Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Home


Home page > Scientific production > News > Progress in the production of transverse high magnetic fields

Français

Progress in the production of transverse high magnetic fields

A new prototype of a compact transverse magnetic field coil, designed and realized at the Laboratoire National des Champs Magnétiques Intenses of Toulouse, has reached a magnetic field higher than 30 teslas, corresponding to a current bigger than 36000 amperes.


This coil, which is a big step forward in the generation of transverse magnetic fields, will allow physicists to set up an experiment which goal is to measure the Vacuum Magnetic Birefringence. Since one of this type of coils (total length 73 cm) produces 300 T²m, three of them will be realised in the framework of the BMV project and installed in a few meter long optical Fabry-Perot cavity. For sake of comparison, a CERN LHC dipole gives 1300 T²m over 14 m.


This « XXL-coil » has been fully realized at the Laboratoire National des Champs Magnétiques Intenses de Toulouse and initially tested at the Toulouse site. The final test has been conducted at the Dresden High Magnetic Field Laboratory in Germany.



Figure: Transverse magnetic field produced by the « XXL-coil » realized at the Laboratoire National des Champs Magnétiques Intenses of Toulouse.


Local contact: Julien Mauchain (mauchain@lncmp.org)


BMV project: web page

Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Accueil


Accueil du site > Production scientifique > Actualités > Avancée dans la production de champs magnétiques transverses

English

Avancée dans la production de champs magnétiques transverses

Un nouveau prototype de bobine compacte à champ magnétique transverse, conçu et réalisé au Laboratoire National des Champs Magnétiques Intenses de Toulouse, a permis d’atteindre un champ magnétique supérieur à 30 teslas, correspondant à un courant de plus de 36000 ampères.


Cette bobine, qui représente une grande avancée dans la génération de champ magnétique transverse, va permettre d’envisager de mesurer la Biréfringence Magnétique du Vide. Sachant qu’une bobine de ce type (encombrement de 73 cm de long) fournit 300 T²m, trois de ces bobines seront développées pour ce projet et installées dans une cavité optique de type Fabry-Pérot de très haute finesse et de quelques mètres de long. Notons qu’en comparaison, les dipôles du LHC au CERN fournissent 1300 T²m sur une longueur de 14 m.


Celle bobine « XXL-coil » a été fabriquée au Laboratoire National des Champs Magnétiques Intenses de Toulouse et testée sur le site de Toulouse. Le test ultime a été effectué au Laboratoire des Champs Magnétiques Intenses de Dresde (Dresden High Magnetic Field Laboratory), en Allemagne.



Figure : Profils du champ magnétique transverse généré par la bobine « XXL-coil » développée au Laboratoire National des Champs Magnétiques Intenses de Toulouse.


Local contact : Julien Mauchain (mauchain@lncmp.org)


Projet BMV : page web