Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Home


Home page > Research topics > X ray and neutron scattering > Neutron diffraction study of the frustrated antiferromagnet TbB4

Français

Neutron diffraction study of the frustrated antiferromagnet TbB4

The magnetic properties of geometrically frustrated systems are among the hot topics in condensed matter physics. In such systems, a variety of unconventional phases appears due to frustrated spin interactions that couple with lattice, orbital and charge degrees of freedom. We can tune the balance between them using strong magnetic field through the Zeeman interaction of spins, and various novel magnetic phases have been found in magnetic fields exceeding 20 T. Neutron scattering is a powerful and valuable technique to directly determine the space- and time-correlation of magnetic moments, and to have a deeper insight into the origin of the novel phases in high fields. So far, however, sufficiently high magnetic fields have not been accessible for neutron scattering studies.

Here, we present the first successful application of pulsed high magnetic fields for neutron diffraction experiments. This new technique was used to investigate the magnetic structure of the geometrically frustrated system TbB4, in magnetic fields up to 30 T. The experiment was carried out on the high-flux, low background triple-axis spectrometer IN22 (Institut Laue Langevin , Grenoble), with a neutron wavelength of 1.53 Å, using a transportable pulsed magnet system built up by Prof. Nojiri’s group (IMR, Tohoku University, Sendai) and the mobile capacitor bank developed at the LNCMI-T.

At room temperature, TbB4 crystallizes in the tetragonal structure P4/mbm. The network of magnetic Tb ions consists of squares and triangles whose configuration within the c-plane is characterized by orthogonal dimers topologically equivalent to the two dimensional Shastry-Sutherland lattice (SSL) [1]. In zero field, TbB4 exhibits two successive antiferromagnetic transitions at TN1 = 44 K and TN2 = 24 K [2]. The magnetic structure at B = 0 T is a XY-type noncollinear structure [3]. At low temperature and high fields (between 16 and 30 T), multi-step magnetization plateaus appear when the magnetic field is perpendicular to the magnetic easy plane (figure below, left) [4]. This behaviour is unusual since successive metamagnetic transitions in rare earth intermetallics are generally expected when the field is parallel to the Ising easy axis [5]. Therefore the determination of magnetic structure of TbB4 in high magnetic field is essential to understand this phenomenon.

Within the constraints of the pulsed magnet system developed for neutron scattering, we have succeeded in measuring the field dependences of four Bragg reflections ((100), (200), (110) and (220)) up to 30 T. The neutron counts and magnetic fields were measured simultaneously using a time analysing system so that the field dependence of Bragg peaks at fixed diffraction angle can be monitored and recorded as a function of time. The accumulation of 100-200 magnetic field pulses for each reflection was required to acquire statistically relevant data. As an example, the field dependence of the intensity of the (100) peak is reported on figure below (right). The relative intensity against the zero field intensity I/I0 and the relative magnetization M/MS are reported in the figure. Stepwise changes which can be related to the magnetization process are clearly observed in the intensity of the magnetic (100) reflection.





From these experimental results, different magnetic models have been calculated. They indicate a much weaker AF correlation in TbB4 than the expected one in a conventional antiferromagnet and also suggest the presence of significant anisotropic interactions. A model introducing a biquadratic interaction term which stabilizes an orthogonal configuration of magnetic moments was proposed to explain the multiple magnetization plateaus. Further investigations of the magnetic scattering diagram in high fields would be needed to confirm this model. Nevertheless, these results clearly demonstrate the large potential of pulsed magnetic fields for neutron diffraction experiments.


References

[1] B.S. Shastry and B. Sutherland, Physica B+C 108, 1069 (1981).

[2] Z. Fisk, M.B. Maple, D.C. Johnston, and L.D. Woolf, Solid State Commun. 39, 1189 (1981).

[3] T. Matsumura, D. Okuyama, and Y. Murakami, J. Phys. Soc. Jpn. 76, 015001 (2007).

[4] S. Yoshii, T. Yamamoto, M. Hagiwara, S. Michimura, A. Shigekawa, F. Iga, T. Takabatake, and K. Kindo, Phys. Rev. Lett. 101, 087202 (2008).

[5] J. Rossat-Mignot, P. Burlet, S. Quezel, J.M. Effantin, D. Delacôte, H. Bartholin, O. Vogt, and D. Ravot, J. Magn. Magn. Mater. 31-34, 398 (1983).


Members of the laboratory implied in this activity

F. Duc, P. Frings, G.L.J.A. Rikken, B. Vignolle


Collaborations

H. Nojiri, K. Ohoyama, S. Yoshii (IMR, Université de Tohoku, Japon)

M. Matsuda (JAEA, Tokai, Japon)

L.-P. Regnault (CEA, Grenoble)

Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Accueil


Accueil du site > Thèmes de recherche > Diffusion des rayons X et des neutrons > Etude par diffraction de neutron du composé antiferromagnétique frustré TbB4

English

Etude par diffraction de neutron du composé antiferromagnétique frustré TbB4

La compréhension des propriétés physiques des matériaux magnétiques géométriquement frustrés est un enjeu majeur dans le domaine de la matière condensée. Dans ces composés, un grand nombre d’états fondamentaux résulte des interactions, voire de la compétition des spins avec les différents degrés de liberté du système comme les degrés de liberté de charges, d’orbites et de réseau. Sous l’application d’un champ magnétique intense, il est possible via l’interaction Zeeman de contrôler l’état fondamental du système, et donc d’induire des transitions de phases entre plusieurs états fondamentaux. Par sa capacité à sonder les corrélations spatiales et temporelles des moments magnétiques, la diffusion des neutrons se révèle une technique puissante et fiable pour explorer et comprendre l’origine des nouveaux états observés à forts champs. Malgré cela, les techniques de diffusion neutronique ont été très longtemps combinées seulement à des champs magnétiques statiques modérés générés par des aimants supraconducteurs, la limite actuelle se situant à 17 T à l’Institut Hahn-Meitner à Berlin.

Dans cette rubrique, nous présentons la première étude réalisée avec succès par diffraction des neutrons sous des champs magnétiques pulsés de 30 T. Cette nouvelle technique a été utilisée pour étudier la structure magnétique du système géométriquement frustré TbB4. Cette expérience a été réalisée sur le spectromère 3-axes IN22 de l’Institut Laue Langevin à Grenoble, avec un faisceau de neutron de longueur d’onde 1.53 Å, en utilisant le dispositif de bobine pulsé transportable construit par le groupe du Prof. Nojiri (IMR, Tohoku University, Sendai) et le générateur mobile de champ magnétique pulsé développé au LNCMI-T.

A température ambiante, le TbB4 présente une symétrie quadratique de groupe d’espace P4/mbm. Les ions Tb magnétiques constituent un réseau de carrés et de triangles dont la configuration dans le plan c est caractérisée par des dimères orthogonaux topologiquement équivalents à un réseau bidimensionnel de type Shastry-Sutherland (SSL) [1]. A champs nul, TbB4 montre deux transitions antiferromagnétiques successives à TN1 = 44 K et TN2 = 24 K [2], la structure magnétique étant colinéaire de type XY [3]. A basse température et forts champs (entre 16 et 30 T), plusieurs plateaux d’aimantation sont observés quand le champ magnétique est appliqué perpendiculairement au plan de facile aimantation (figure ci-dessous, à gauche) [4]. Ce comportement est inhabituel puisque des transitions métamagnétiques successives sont généralement attendues dans les composés intermétalliques à base de terres rares quand le champ est parallèle à l’axe facile de Ising [5]. Il en résulte que la détermination de la structure magnétique de TbB4 sous champ magnétique intense est essentiel à la compréhension de ce phénomène.

Compte tenu des contraintes imposées par le dispositif de bobine pulsée développé pour la diffusion de neutron, nous avons réussi à mesurer la dépendance en champ de quatre réflexions de Bragg ((100), (200), (110) and (220)) jusqu’à 30 T. Les neutrons détectés et les champs magnétiques appliqués ont été mesurés simultanément en utilisant un système d’analyse temporelle de manière à ce que la dépendance en champ des pics de Bragg à angle de diffraction fixe puisse être contrôlée et enregistrée en fonction du temps. L’accumulation de 100 à 200 impulsions de champs magnétiques par réflexion est nécessaire pour acquérir des données avec une statistique significative. A titre d’exemple, la dépendance en champ de l’intensité de la raie (100) est reportée sur la figure ci-dessous (à droite). Les valeurs de son intensité relative par rapport à son intensité à champ nul I/I0 ainsi que l’aimantation relative M/MS sont mentionnées dans la figure. Des variations sous forme de marche qui peuvent être directement reliées au processus d’aimantation sont clairement observées dans l’intensité de la réflexion magnétique (100).





Différents modèles de structures magnétiques ont été calculés à partir de ces résultats expérimentaux. Ils indiquent que les corrélations AF dans le TbB4 sont bien plus faibles que celles attendues dans un composé antiferromagnétique conventionnel et suggèrent également la présence significative d’interactions anisotropes. Un modèle introduisant un terme d’interaction biquadratique qui stabilise une configuration orthogonale des moments magnétiques est proposé pour expliquer l’observation de multiples plateaux d’aimantation. Des investigations plus approfondies à forts champs du diagramme de diffusion magnétique seraient nécessaires pour confirmer ce modèle. Quoi qu’il en soit, ces résultats montrent clairement les nouvelles possibilités offertes par les champs magnétiques pulsés pour les expériences de diffraction de neutron.


Références

[1] B.S. Shastry and B. Sutherland, Physica B+C 108, 1069 (1981).

[2] Z. Fisk, M.B. Maple, D.C. Johnston, and L.D. Woolf, Solid State Commun. 39, 1189 (1981).

[3] T. Matsumura, D. Okuyama, and Y. Murakami, J. Phys. Soc. Jpn. 76, 015001 (2007).

[4] S. Yoshii, T. Yamamoto, M. Hagiwara, S. Michimura, A. Shigekawa, F. Iga, T. Takabatake, and K. Kindo, Phys. Rev. Lett. 101, 087202 (2008).

[5] J. Rossat-Mignot, P. Burlet, S. Quezel, J.M. Effantin, D. Delacôte, H. Bartholin, O. Vogt, and D. Ravot, J. Magn. Magn. Mater. 31-34, 398 (1983).


Membres du laboratoire impliqués dans cette activité

F. Duc, P. Frings, G.L.J.A. Rikken, B. Vignolle


Collaborations

H. Nojiri, K. Ohoyama, S. Yoshii (IMR, Université de Tohoku, Japon)

M. Matsuda (JAEA, Tokai, Japon)

L.-P. Regnault (CEA, Grenoble)