Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Home


Home page > Research topics > Nano-objects and semiconducting nano-structures

Français   

Nano-objects and semiconducting nano-structures

Nanoscience and nanophysics are fascinating research areas where the physical, optical and electronic properties of various nano-objects are explored in order to integrate them in tomorrow’s materials or electronic devices.

However, before considering such perspectives, an important fundamental research effort has to be carried out in order to deeply understand the basic properties of nano-obects. Their manipulation, their electrical connection as well as their optical or electronic characterization are experimental challenges that our team is taking up everyday.

The application of a strong magnetic field together with the use of very low temperature constitute an extreme environment favourable to the discovery of the fundamental electronic properties of the nano-objects under study. These are, among others, carbon nanotubes, graphene and graphene nano-ribbons, thin graphite as well as semi-conducting nanostructures.


Members of the lab involved in this activity:
Walter Escoffier ; Michel Goiran ; Mathieu Pierre ; Yang Ming



From left to right: Bruno Camargo, Yang Ming, Nicolas Thiery, Michel Goiran, Walter Escoffier, Florian Vigneau and Mathieu Pierre.

Last update: June 2017


In this section :

People


Research


Publications

Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Accueil


Accueil du site > Thèmes de recherche > Nano-objets et nano-structures semiconductrices

English

Nano-objets et nano-structures semiconductrices

Les nano-sciences, et en particulier la nano-physique, forment un domaine de recherche fascinant où les propriétés physiques, optiques et électroniques de divers nano-objets sont explorées en vue de promouvoir leur intégration dans les matériaux ou l’électronique de demain.

Mais avant d’envisager de telles perspectives, un important effort de recherche fondamentale doit être mené afin de comprendre l’ensemble des propriétés des nano-objets. Ainsi, leur manipulation, leur adressage électrique ainsi que leur caractérisation électronique ou optique constituent des défis expérimentaux que notre équipe tente de relever jours après jours.

L’application d’un champ magnétique intense combiné à l’utilisation de très basses températures constituent un environnement extrême très propice à la découverte des propriétés électroniques fondamentales des nano-objets étudiés. Ces derniers sont, parmi d’autres, les nano-tubes de carbone, le graphène et les nano-rubans de graphène, le graphite aminci ainsi que les nano-structures semi-conductrices.


Membres du labo impliqués dans cette activité :
Walter Escoffier ; Michel Goiran ; Mathieu Pierre ; Yang Ming



De gauche à droite : Bruno Camargo, Yang Ming, Nicolas Thiery, Michel Goiran, Walter Escoffier, Florian Vigneau et Mathieu Pierre.

Mise à jour : juin 2017


Dans cette section :

Membres


Résultats de recherche


Publications