Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Home


Home page > Research topics > Heavy-fermion systems > Introduction to heavy-fermion systems

Français

Introduction to heavy-fermion systems

Strongly correlated electron systems are the place of a strong competition between electronic localization and delocalization. Application of pressure or doping, i.e., of an adjustable parameter \delta, permits to continuously modify the properties of the system, such as the degree of localization of the electrons. Generally, the localization of the electrons leads to an isolating fundamental state of antiferromagnetic nature, while their delocalization is accompanied by a paramagnetic Fermi liquid fondamental state. Typical examples are Mott isolating systems: such systems are composed of localized electrons which can become itinerent under pressure or by chemical doping, leading to a metallic state. Organics systems (some of them become superconducting at the borderline between their localized and itinerant regimes), as well as high-temperature superconductors and iron-based superconductors belong to this family of strongly correlated fermions.

In heavy-fermion systems, strong electronic correlations lead to a strong renormalization of the effective mass m^* of the electrons (which explains the name "heavy fermions") and to a Fermi liquid behavior at low temperature (C_p/T\propto\chi\propto m^*, where C_p is the specific heat, T the temperature and \chi the magnetic susceptibility, \rho=\rho_0+a(m^*T)^2, where  \rho is the electrical resistivity, etc.). Due to the presence of f and conduction electrons, their physics is dominated by two phenomena :
- the Kondo effect, which consists in an hybridization of f orbitals and conduction bands, and leads to the formation of a strongly renormalized Fermi liquid (the so-called heavy fermion regime).
- the RKKY exchange interaction between two f electrons, via the conduction electrons, which leads to a localized magnetically ordered state of f electrons.
Heavy-fermion systems are also subject to a strong competition between electronic localization and delocalization. In this case, this competition concerns only one kind of electrons, the f-electrons.

Phase diagram of heavy fermions Figure 1 : Generic phase diagram of heavy-fermion systems

The phase diagram of heavy-fermion systems, shown in Figure 1, results from the competition between Kondo and RKKY interactions [1]. It can be controlled via an adjustable parameter \delta, such as pressure or chemical doping, and is constituted of a generally antiferromagnetic phase and of a paramagnetic and Fermi-liquid regime. These two regimes are separated at T = 0 by a quantum phase transition, also called quantum critical point. Spectacular phenomena, such as the so-called "non-Fermi liquid regime" [2] or the development of a superconducting pocket [3] are observed in the neighbouring of the quantum phase transition of many heavy-fermion systems. The notion of critical magnetic fluctuations[4] is at the heart of the heavy-fermion problem [5]. The description of quantum criticality and of the related phenomena is now subject to speculations and controversies in the heavy-fermion community and a consensual understanding of these effects is still lacking.

References :

[1] S. Doniach, Physica B 91, 231 (1977).

[2] G.R. Stewart, Rev. Mod. Phys. 73, 797 (2001).

[3] J. Flouquet et al., C. R. Phys. 7 (2006) 22 ; P. Thalmeier et al., Frontiers in Superconducting Materials (Springer, Berlin, 2005) Chap. 3 ; C. Pfleiderer, arXiv : 0905.2625v1 [cond-mat.supr-con].

[4] W. Knafo et al., Nature Phys. 5, 753 (2009).

[5] J.A. Hertz, Phys. Rev. B 14, 1165 (1976) ; A.J. Millis, Phys. Rev. B 48, 7183 (1993) ; T. Moriya, and T. Takimoto, J. Phys. Soc. Japan 64, 960 (1995) ; T. Moriya and K. Ueda, Adv. Phys. 49, 555 (2000).

Next page: Heavy fermions in high magnetic field

Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Accueil


Accueil du site > Thèmes de recherche > Systèmes à fermions lourds > Introduction aux systèmes à fermions lourds

English

Introduction aux systèmes à fermions lourds

Les systèmes à électrons très fortement corrélés sont le lieu d’une compétition entre localisation et délocalisation électronique. En appliquant une pression ou un dopage chimique, c’est-à-dire un paramètre ajustable \delta, on peut modifier continûment les propriétés du système et agir sur la localisation des électrons. Généralement, la localisation des électrons se caractérise par un état fondamental isolant et ordonné magnétiquement, alors que leur délocalisation s’accompagne d’un état fondamental liquide de Fermi, conducteur et paramagnétique. Tel est par exemple le cas des isolants de Mott, lesquels sont composés d’électrons localisés qui, sous pression ou par dopage, peuvent devenir itinérants et donner un caractère métallique au système. Parmi eux, on cite le cas de certains systèmes organiques (qui deviennent parfois supraconducteurs à la transition localisé-itinérant), mais aussi le cas des supraconducteurs à haute température critique ou des supraconducteurs à base de fer.

Dans les systèmes à fermions lourds, de très fortes corrélations électroniques conduisent à une très forte renormalisation de la masse effective m^* des électrons (d’où l’appellation "fermions lourds") et à un comportement de type liquide de Fermi à basse température (C_p/T\propto\chi\propto m^*, où C_p est la chaleur spécifique, T la température et \chi la susceptibilité magnétique, \rho=\rho_0+a(m^*T)^2, où  \rho est la résistivité électrique, etc.). Dû à la présence d’électrons f et d’électrons provenant de bandes de conduction, leur physique est dominée par deux phénomènes :
- l’effet Kondo, qui consiste en une hybridation des orbitales f et des bandes de conduction, et qui conduit à la délocalisation des électrons f et à l’établissement d’un régime liquide de Fermi fortement renormalisé (c’est le régime à fermions lourds).
- l’interaction d’échange RKKY entre deux électrons f, via les électrons de conduction, qui tend vers un état localisé ordonné magnétiquement des électrons f.
Les systèmes à fermions lourds sont eux aussi le siège d’une compétition entre localisation et délocalisation électronique, laquelle concerne les électrons f.

Diagramme de phase des fermions lourds Figure 1 : Diagramme de phase générique des systèmes à fermions lourds

Le diagramme de phase de ces systèmes (cf. Figure 1) résulte de la compétition des interactions Kondo et RKKY [1]. Il peut être contrôlé via un paramètre ajustable \delta tel que la pression ou le dopage chimique et est constitué d’une phase antiferromagnétique et d’un régime paramagnétique et liquide de Fermi, lesquels sont séparés par une transition de phase quantique (à T = 0). Des phénomènes spectaculaires, tels que l’apparition d’un régime dit "non-liquide de Fermi" [2] ou d’une poche de supraconductivité non-conventionnelle [3] sont observés au voisinage de la transition de phase quantique de nombreux fermions lourds. La notion de fluctuations magnétiques critiques [4], qui sont les fluctuations qui gouvernent la transition, est au cœur du problème [5]. La compréhension de la criticalité quantique et des phénomènes associés est actuellement sujette à de nombreuses spéculations et controverses dans la communauté des fermions lourds.

Références :

[1] S. Doniach, Physica B 91, 231 (1977).

[2] G.R. Stewart, Rev. Mod. Phys. 73, 797 (2001).

[3] J. Flouquet et al., C. R. Phys. 7 (2006) 22 ; P. Thalmeier et al., Frontiers in Superconducting Materials (Springer, Berlin, 2005) Chap. 3 ; C. Pfleiderer, arXiv : 0905.2625v1 [cond-mat.supr-con].

[4] W. Knafo et al., Nature Phys. 5, 753 (2009).

[5] J.A. Hertz, Phys. Rev. B 14, 1165 (1976) ; A.J. Millis, Phys. Rev. B 48, 7183 (1993) ; T. Moriya, and T. Takimoto, J. Phys. Soc. Japan 64, 960 (1995) ; T. Moriya and K. Ueda, Adv. Phys. 49, 555 (2000).

Page suivante : Fermions lourds en champ magnétique intense