Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Home


Home page > Presentation > History

Français

History of the LNCMI in Toulouse

Pulsed magnetic fields were first produced and use at Cambridge, in 1924, with the pioneering work of P.L. Kapitza. In Toulouse, pulsed magnet production started in 1965, at Université Paul Sabatier under the initiative of S. Askénazy in the Laboratoire de Physique des Solides (LPS) with the strong support ofCharles Fert director of the laboratory.

During the first decade, S. Askénazy developed coils producing long duration pulsed magnetic fields up to 40T. Current through the coil was supplied by the discharge of a capacitor bank switched by ignitrons. He then set up a research team to use the field to study semiconductor quantum transport including J. Léotin, J.C. Portal and J.C. Ulmet. The team built up specific instrumentation, electronics, and cryogenics for pulsed magnetic field experiments and was soon successful at measuring quantum magneto-transport and optics in semiconductors, including Shubnikov de Haas, and magnetophonon oscillations, and far-infrared laser based cyclotron resonance. This work was developed in close collaboration with Pr. R.A. Stradling at the Clarendon Laboratory (Oxford), with Pr. P.R. Wallace at McGill University (Montreal) and with the support of J. Bok at Ecole Normale Supérieure. The novel feature of the Toulouse magnets was the long duration of pulses a few hundred milliseconds together with negligible coil vibrations. The power supply was based on 3kV capacitors storing 100kJ.

In 1975, the pulsed magnet set up expanded as a National Facility located on the campus of the Institut National des Sciences Appliquées (INSA) which was supported by CNRS, UPS and INSA and entitled Service National des Champs Magnétiques Pulsés (SNCMP). A new building was constructed to accommodate a set of four experimental set ups having their coils driven by a common power supply based on 1.25MJ (10kV) capacitor bank and a home-made mercury switch. Later, in 1980, the facility was upgraded by a novel switch based on high voltage thyritsors in series and simultaneously triggered by an optical fibre signal. [DOI:10.1117/12.935605]. This home-made technology paved the way for the next generation of pulsed magnet facilities around the world. Another step forward took place with the development of 60T coils made up of copper-wire reinforced with NbTi [DOI:10.1016/0921-4526(94)00934-N] as well as dilution cryogenics down to 100mK. [DOI:10.1016/0921-4526(94)01064-8]. During this second decade new lines of research started on magnetism, superconductivity and organic conductors. As a result, the SNCMP facility has welcomed growing numbers of visitors and established numerous collaborations at both national and international levels, which resulted in large number of publications. 

 

 

In 1990, S. Askénazy introduced the plan to upgrade the SNCMP with a 14 MJ, 24 kV power supply and new coils to produce 1-second pulsed fields up to 60T. The idea behind this was to initiate a European pulsed magnet facility. CNRS, UPS, INSA and Région Midi-Pyrénées endorsed the project and supplied preliminary funds to construct a new building, develop and construct in house the 14 MJ power supply. An extended technical team was then supported to carry out the development and construction of the 14 MJ capacitor based power supply, a world record at this time. In addition a research and technical development activity started to study and produce composite copper wires with high mechanical strength and low resistivity that aimed to reach magnetic fields up to 100T. [DOI:10.1016/0921-4526(94)00934-N]. The SNCMP took an active part in the European consortium « Design studies for 100 T magnet ». [DOI:10.1109/20.305615]. S. Askénazy promotedthe concept of “coilin-coilex” magnets based on two concentric coils energized by two different synchronized capacitors banks [DOI :10.1088/0034-4885/62/6/201, DOI:10.1016/0921-4526(94)00944-Q]. This concept is now widely implemented everywhere in order to produce non-destructive magnetic fields up to 100T. In addition, the SNCMP supported the installation of 30T, 1-second duration pulsed magnets in Porto (Portugal), Saragossa (Spain) as well as Mérida (Venezuela). 

In 2000, the “Laboratoire National de Champs Magnétiques Pulsés” (LNCMP) was created by CNRS, UPS and INSA who appointed then Geert Rikken as the new director. He coordinated an extended research and technical team which rapidly produced outstanding experiments up to 70T. Finally, in 2009, the Toulouse and Grenoble magnet facilities merged in a single laboratory created by CNRS in association with UJF, UPS and INSA, entitled “Laboratoire National des Champs Magnétiques Intenses” (LNCMI).

Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Accueil


Accueil du site > Présentation > Historique

English

Historique du LNCMI à Toulouse

La production et l’utilisation de champs magnétiques pulsés a débuté à Cambridge, en 1924 avec les travaux de P. L. Kapitza. C’est en 1965 qu’elle commence à Toulouse, sous l’impulsion de S. Askénazy, au sein du Laboratoire de Physique des Solides (LPS) alors dirigé par Charles Fert, à l’Université Paul Sabatier nouvellement implantée sur le site de Rangueil.

Durant la première décennie, S. Askénazy réalise des bobines produisant un champ magné-tique pulsé de longue durée et de valeur crête 40T. Il pilote également la construction du générateur de courant pulsé de la bobine avec le groupe de G. Giralt au L.A.A.S. Il installe par ailleurs un service de cryogénie à l’Université Paul Sabatier. Durant cette période, l’équipe fondatrice des champs magnétiques intenses (S. Askénazy, J. Léotin, J-C. Portal et J-P. Ulmet) développe au LPS l’instrumentation, l’électronique et la cryogénie pour les premières mesures de magnéto-transport quantique et de résonance cyclotron dans des semiconducteurs, et, dès l’origine, fonctionne en collaboration étroite avec les équipes du Pr. J. Bok à l’ENSup, du Pr. R.A. Stradling au Clarendon Laboratory (Oxford), du Pr. P.R. Wallace à l’Université de McGill (Montréal). Le champ pulsé de Toulouse a la particularité de présenter une longue durée et des vibrations négligeables permettant des mesures de grande précision. Dans ce but, S. Askénazy a fait le choix original de bobines compactes en fil de cuivre renforcées par une frette métallique externe. La première génération de bobines est alimentée par un banc de condensateurs de 100 kJ, 3kV, dont la décharge est réalisée à l’aide d’un interrupteur à ignitrons inséré dans un circuit crow bar à diodes de puissance.

En 1975, le CNRS crée le Service National des Champs Magnétiques Pulsés ( SNCMP) sur le site de l’Institut National des Sciences Appliquées (INSA). Sous la direction de S. Askénazy, une équipe de techniciens et de chercheurs planifie la construction d’un nouveau bâtiment, et d’un nouveau générateur ainsi qu’une nouvelle génération de bobines et de cryostats.Le générateur est basé sur un banc de condensateurs de 1,25 MJ, 10kV et sur un interrupteur à piston immergé dans le mercure conçu et réalisé pour ce nouveau banc. En 1980, un nouvel interrupteur à thyristors commandés par fibre optique est conçu et mis en service au laboratoire [DOI :10.1117/12.935605]. Cet interrupteur ouvre la voie technologique des futurs générateurs dans le monde, en particulier celui du générateur actuel de 14 MJ et 24 kV. L’étape suivante est marquée en 1987 par le développement de bobines en fils de cuivre renforcés au NbTi [DOI :10.1016/0921-4526(94)00934-N] produisant un champ de 61 T pendant 0,1s. L’équipe des chercheurs associés au SNCMP s’étoffe et développe de nouveaux axes de recherche sur le magnétisme, la supraconductivité et les conducteurs organiques. Elle met alors en place la cryogénie à dilution en champ pulsé [DOI :10.1016/0921-4526(94)01064-8].Elle amplifie l’accueil des visiteurs, et de très nombreuses collaborations sont établies, tant sur le plan national qu’international, permettant aux chercheurs une intense production de publications.

En 1990, S. Askénazy propose l’extension du SNCMP sous la tutelle du CNRS, de l’UPS et de l’INSA et projette également la construction du bâtiment actuel du LNCMI. Le but visé est d’initier un service européen de champ magnétique pulsé basé sur un générateur 14 MJ, 24 kV et des bobines produisant un champ pulsé de durée 1 seconde et de valeur crête 60T. Dans cette optique, le SNCMP construit des équipements de champ pulsé de 30 T et de durée 1 seconde, à Porto, Saragosse et à Mérida (Vénézuéla). Alors s’engage une opération lourde au financement réduit avec la construction du bâtiment, la réalisation intra-muros du générateur 14 MJ ainsi que la mise en place d’un atelier de R&D sur la production de fils de cuivre composites à haute tenue mécanique et faible résistivité [DOI :10.1016/0921-4526(94)00934-N]. Durant cette décennie, le SNCMP prend une part active dans les travaux du consortium européen « Design studies for 100 T magnet ». [DOI :10.1109/20.305615].Dans ce groupe, il promeut le concept de bobines gigognes « coilin-coilex » alimentées par des générateurs distincts synchronisés [DOI :10.1088/0034-4885/62/6/201, DOI :10.1016/0921-4526(94)00944-Q]. Ce concept est partout mis en œuvre aujourd’hui pour la production non destructive de champ magnétique atteignant 100T.

En l’an 2000, le Laboratoire National de Champs magnétiques Pulsés (LNCMP) est créé et devient une Unité Mixte de Recherche du CNRSassociée à l’INSA et l’UPS. Sous la direction de G. Rikken, le LNCMP prend son essor et fusionne en 2009 avec le Laboratoire de Champs Magnétiques Intenses de Grenoble (LCMI) pour former le LNCMI, unité Propre de Recherche du CNRS(UPR 3228) conventionnée avec l’Université Joseph Fourier de Grenoble, l’ Institut National des Sciences Appliquées et l’Université Paul Sabatier de Toulouse.