Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Home


Home page > Experiments and techniques > Beyond 100 T : « Megagauss » fields

Français   

Beyond 100 T : « Megagauss » fields

Beyond 100 Tesla ...

Magnetic fields in excess of 100 T can only be generated at the expense of a drastic reduction in pulse duration. Invariably, they also lead to the destruction of the coil which, however, doesn’t prevent the use of Megagauss magnetic fields (1 Megagauss = 100 Tesla) for scientific experiments.

The LNCMI Megagauss generator is one out of three platforms worldwide that are making use of capacitor-driven single-turn coils (STC) to produce fields in the 150 to 250 T range for scientific applications. Although still higher fields can be obtained with flux compression techniques, STCs have the advantage that the coil destruction does not affect the experimentally useful volume: Samples, cryostats and other equipment generally survive and experiments can therefore be performed reproducibly.

Read more

Megagauss fields at the LNCMI

The LNCMI Megagauss generator has been designed and constructed in the mid-90’s at the Humboldt University Berlin from where it was transferred to Toulouse in 2006. It features a 200 kJ modular capacitor bank that can be charged up to 60 kV. Its record field amounts to 331 T obtained in a STC with 3 mm inner diameter.

For scientific experiments, fields between 150 and 260 T with a pulse duration of 6 μs can be generated in coils featuring 8 to 15 mm diameter. Low temperatures are available depending on coil diameter : measurements at liquid Helium temperature require a STC with at least 12 mm diameter, capable of producing close to 190 T. A coil with 8 mm diameter still permits measurements at liquid Nitrogen temperature while producing a field of 260 T. Experiments can in principle be performed once every half hour.

Read more

Experimental techniques

Scientific experiments in STCs are challenging but feasible. The main handicaps are the short pulse duration, the induced electric fields near the coil and the electromagnetic noise caused by the discharge of the capacitor banc. Thanks to the tremendous evolution of fast electronics and opto-electronics throughout the past decades, a number of experimental techniques have nevertheless been adapted to STCs. At present, optical experiments using single-element detectors can be performed in several wavelength ranges between 400 nm and 11 μm. Another well-established technique are magnetization measurements making use of compensated pick-up coils.

Current developments at the LNCMI are mainly aiming at the improvement of optical measurements in two respects: an extension of the available wavelength range close to the THz-regime, and the use of detector arrays in the visible and near-infrared.

Read more


Membres d’équipe / contact : O. Portugall, O. Drachenko, A. Miyata

Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Accueil


Accueil du site > Aspects expérimentaux et techniques > Au delà de 100 T : Champs « Megagauss »

English

Au delà de 100 T : Champs « Megagauss »

Au delà de 100 Tesla ...

Des champs magnétiques au delà de 100 T ne peuvent être créés que par une réduction drastique de la durée d’impulsion. Inévitablement, ils entraînent aussi la destruction de la bobine, ce qui n’empêche pas l’utilisation des champs Megagauss (1 Megagauss = 100 Tesla) pour des expériences scientifiques.

Le générateur Megagauss du LNCMI est une des trois plateformes mondiales qui utilisent la décharge de condensateurs dans une bobine mono-spire (BMS) pour créer des champs entre 150 et 250 T pour des applications scientifiques. Bien que des champs plus élevés puissent être créés avec des techniques basées sur la compression du flux magnétique, les BMSs ont l’avantage que la destruction de la bobine n’affecte pas le volume expérimental : échantillons, cryostats et autres équipements restent généralement intacts, ce qui permet la reproduction des expériences.

Lire la suite

Champs Megagauss au LNCMI

Le générateur Megagauss du LNCMI a été conçu et réalisé à l’université de Humboldt à Berlin dans les années 90, avant d’être transféré à Toulouse en 2006. Il est constitué d’un banc de condensateurs modulaire de 200 kJ qui peut être chargé jusqu’à 60 kV. Son champ record est de 331 T, obtenu dans une BMS de 3 mm de diamètre.

Pour réaliser des expériences scientifiques, des champs entre 150 et 260 T avec une durée d’environ 6 μs peuvent être créés dans des BMSs ayant un diamètre de 8 à 15 mm. L’accès aux basses températures dépend du diamètre de la bobine : des expériences à température d’Hélium liquide demandent des bobines d’au moins 12 mm, capable de produire des champs de près de 190 T. Une bobine de 8 mm permet toujours des expériences à température d’Azote liquide pendant qu’elle produit des champs aux alentours de 260 T. En principe, des expériences peuvent être réalisées tous les demi-heures.

Lire la suite

Techniques experimentales

La réalisation des expériences scientifiques dans une BMS est difficile, mais pas impossible. Les handicaps majeurs sont la durée d’impulsion assez courte, les tensions induites aux alentours de la bobine, et le bruit électromagnétique lié au déclenchement du banc de condensateurs. Grâce à l’évolution rasante de l’électronique rapide et de l’optoélectronique pendant les dernières décades, un nombre des techniques expérimentales a été toutefois adapté aux BMSs. A présent, des expériences optiques utilisant des détecteurs monolithiques sont possible dans plusieurs gammes de longueur d’onde entre 400 nm and 11 μm. Une autre technique bien établie sont des mesures d’aimantation utilisant des bobines captrices compensées.

Les développements actuelles au LNCMI se focalisent sur l’amélioration des expériences optiques dans deux sens : une extension de la gamme de longueurs d’onde vers le régime THz, et l’usage des barrettes de détecteurs dans le visible et le proche infrarouge.

Lire la suite


Membres d’équipe / contact : O. Portugall, O. Drachenko, A. Miyata