Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Home


Home page > Research topics > Organic conductors

Français

Organic conductors

Presentation

Due to their rather simple Fermi surface, organic metals provide a powerful playground for the investigation of quantum oscillation physics. Indeed, in most cases, their FS can be regarded as a network of orbits coupled by magnetic breakdown giving rise to quantum oscillations spectra with numerous frequency combinations that cannot be accounted for by the semi-classical model of Falicov and Stachowiak. This phenomenon which is attributed to either the formation of Landau bands or (and) the oscillation of the chemical potential in magnetic field needs to be better understood.

Members of the laboratory implied in this activity:

A. Audouard, M. Nardone, D. Vignolles

Collaborations:

V.N Laukhin, E. Canadell (ICMAB Barcelona)
R.B. Lyubovskii, R.N. Lyubovskaya, E.B. Yagubskii (IPCP, Chernogolovka)
J.-Y. Fortin (Institut Jean Lamour, Nancy)

Frequency combinations in linear chains of orbits with high scattering rate

As displayed on the opposite figure, the Fermi surface of (BEDO)_5Ni(CN)_4 3C_2H_4(OH)_2 corresponds to a linear chain of quasi-two-dimensional orbits (\alpha) coupled to quasi-1D sheets by magnetic breakdown. Remarkably, the scattering rate is consistently deduced from the Shubnikov-de Haas oscillations data relevant to both the basic \alpha orbits, the second harmonic 2\alpha and the magnetic breakdown-induced \beta orbits. Its large value points to a significant reduction of the chemical potential oscillations. Despite of this feature, the oscillations spectrum exhibits many frequency combinations. Their temperature dependence (i.e. the effective mass) and (or) field dependence (i.e. the scattering rate) are not in agreement with either the predictions of the quantum interference model (β-α, β-2α and 2(β-α) orbits) or the semi-classical model (β+α obits).

Frequency combinations in networks of compensated orbits

We have evidenced that, chemical potential oscillations are strongly reduced for 2D metals with compensated orbits. According to band structure calculations, such networks are achieved in the family (ET)_8[Hg_4X_{12}(C_6H_5Y)_2] where (X, Y) = (Cl, Br). As displayed in the opposite figure, the two orbits labelled a, with different shapes, are compensated while the \delta and \Delta pieces are forbidden orbits. However, even though the compounds with X = Cl have a metallic ground state, a metal-non metal transition is observed as the temperature decreases for X = Br. For X = Cl and Y = Br (metallic state), all the frequency combinations observed in early de Haas-van Alphen (dHvA) oscillations spectra up to 28 T data are consistent with the semi-classical picture. Oppositely, recent dHvA spectra obtained from magnetic torque measurements up to 55 T exhibit many frequency combinations, most of them being forbidden within the semi-classical framework (see the opposite figure). Otherwise, the effective mass linked to the basic orbits (a) strongly decrease under applied pressure. The obtained results suggest for this family a Brinkman-Rice type scenario which predicts a divergence of the effective mass as approaching a Mott transition.

Selected publications

D. Vignolles, A. Audouard, V.N. Laukhin, J. Béard, E. Canadell, N.G. Spitsina and E.B. Yagubskii, Eur. Phys. J. B. 55 383 (2007).
J.-Y. Fortin and A. Audouard, Phys. Rev. B 77 134440 (2008).
D. Vignolles, A. Audouard, R.B. Lyubovskii, M. Nardone1, E. Canadell, E.I. Zhilyaeva and R.N. Lyubovskaya ,Eur. Phys. J. B. 66 489 (2008).
D. Vignolles, A. Audouard, V.N. Laukhin, E. Canadell, T.G. Prokhorova and E.B. Yagubskii, Eur. Phys. J. B. (2009).

Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Accueil


Accueil du site > Thèmes de recherche > Conducteurs organiques

English

Conducteurs organiques

Présentation

Grâce à leur surface de Fermi relativement simple, les conducteurs organiques sont susceptibles de constituer des composés modèles pour la physique des oscillations quantiques. En effet, dans de nombreux cas, elle constitue un réseau d’orbites couplées par la rupture magnétique. Cela donne lieu à des spectres d’oscillations quantiques présentant de nombreuses combinaisons de fréquences, incompatibles avec le modèle semi-classique de Falicov et Stachowiak. Ce phénomène qui est attribué à la formation de bandes de Landau et (ou) à l’oscillation du potentiel chimique sous champ magnétique nécessite une meilleure compréhension.

Membres du laboratoire impliqués dans cette activité

A. Audouard, M. Nardone, D. Vignolles

Collaborations

V.N Laukhin, E. Canadell (ICMAB Barcelona)
R.B. Lyubovskii, R.N. Lyubovskaya, E.B. Yagubskii (IPCP, Chernogolovka)
J.-Y. Fortin (Institut Jean Lamour, Nancy)

Combinaisons de fréquences dans des chaînes linéaires d’orbites couplées avec un faible temps de relaxation

Comme le montre l’insert de la figure ci-contre, la surface de Fermi du composé (BEDO)_5Ni(CN)_4 3C_2H_4(OH)_2 correspond à une chaîne linéaire d’orbites quasi-2D (orbites \alpha) couplées à des feuillets quasi-1D par la rupture magnétique. Remarquablement, un valeur cohérente du temps de relaxation est déduit des oscillations de Shubnikov-de Haas liées aux orbites de base \alpha, au second harmonique 2\alpha et à l’orbite de rupture magnétique \beta. Sa forte valeur suggère une forte réduction des oscillations du potentiel chimique. Pourtant, le spectre des oscillations renferme de nombreuses combinaisons de fréquences. Leur dépendance en température (masse effective) et (ou) en champ magnétique (temps de relaxation) ne sont en accord ni avec les prédictions du modèle d’interférences quantiques (orbites β-α, β-2α et 2(β-α)) ni avec celles du modèle semi-classique (orbites β+α).

Combinaisons de fréquences dans les réseaux d’orbites compensées

Nous avons montré que les oscillations du potentiel chimique sont fortement réduites pour les liquides de Fermi avec des orbites compensées. D’après les calculs de structure électronique, un tel réseau est obtenu dans la famille de composés (ET)_8[Hg_4X_{12}(C_6H_5Y)_2] (avec X, Y = Cl, Br). Comme le montre l’insert de la figure ci-contre, les deux orbites fermées de forme différente (nommées a) sont compensées alors que les parties \delta et \Delta sont des "orbites interdites". Cependant, alors que pour X=Cl, l’état fondamental est métallique, on observe une transition métal-non métal pour X = Br lorsque la température diminue. Pour X = Cl et Y = Br (métallique), toutes les combinaisons de fréquences observées dans les spectres d’oscillations de de Haas-van Alphen (dHvA) à bas champ (jusqu’à 28 T) sont cohérentes avec le modèle semi-classique. Au contraire, les spectres de la figure ci-contre, obtenus à partir de mesures de couple magnétique jusqu’à 55 T, montrent de nombreuses combinaisons de fréquences, pour la plupart interdites par le modèle semi-classique. Par ailleurs, la masse effective des orbites de base (a) diminue fortement sous pression. Les résultats suggèrent pour cette famille de composés un scénario de type Brinkman-Rice qui prévoit une divergence de la masse effective à l’approche d’une transition de Mott

Quelques références

D. Vignolles, A. Audouard, V.N. Laukhin, J. Béard, E. Canadell, N.G. Spitsina and E.B. Yagubskii, Eur. Phys. J. B. 55 383 (2007).
J.-Y. Fortin and A. Audouard, Phys. Rev. B 77 134440 (2008).
D. Vignolles, A. Audouard, R.B. Lyubovskii, M. Nardone, E. Canadell, E.I. Zhilyaeva and R.N. Lyubovskaya , Eur. Phys. J. B. 66 489 (2008).
D. Vignolles, A. Audouard, V.N. Laukhin, E. Canadell, T.G. Prokhorova and E.B. Yagubskii, Eur. Phys. J. B. (2009).