Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Home


Home page > Scientific production > News > Universal quantum oscillations in the underdoped cuprate superconductors

Français

Universal quantum oscillations in the underdoped cuprate superconductors

Within these last 7 years, quantum oscillation’s measurements in high field facilities in hole doped high temperature superconductors have shed a new light on the low temperature ground state of these fascinating materials. They have established the validity of a generalized Fermi liquid picture for the low temperature normal state, not only in the overdoped part of the phase diagram but also, and more surprisingly in underdoped YBa2Cu3Oy (YBCO). The large Fermi surface (FS) occupying 65% of the first Brillouin zone (FBZ) measured in the overdoped compound in agreement with photoemission measurements and band structure calculations is in sharp contrast to the small Fermi pockets covering only 2% of the FBZ in underdoped YBCO. Combined with negative Hall and Seebeck coefficients, these experimental facts point to a reconstruction of the high temperature FS into electron and hole pockets caused by a competing charge order that breaks the translational symmetry of the crystal, as recently evidenced by high-field NMR, high-field ultrasound velocity measurements and zero field X ray scattering. While this result has been interpreted as a dramatic change of the FS associated with the quintessential CuO2 planes, it may also be attributed to the existence of a non-universal FS piece related to the CuO chains in YBCO. Consequently, it has remained a pivotal open question whether the FS reconstruction has anything to do with aspects of the unidirectional structures, or if it is a universal property of the cuprates. We have settled this issue through the observation of quantum oscillations in the magnetoresistance of a simple tetragonal compound HgBa2CuO4+δ(Hg1201) at p≈0.09 in pulsed magnetic fields of up to 80 T.

Figure 1: Field dependence of the in-plane resistance data for Hg1201 (Tc = 72 K, p = 0.09) in pulsed magnetic fields (up to 80 T) at selected temperatures. Quantum oscillations are clearly observed from the raw data above 60 T. Inset: the derivative of the resistance highlights the oscillations.

Thanks to the long pulse duration of the coilin-coilex system developed by the engineers at the LNCMI-Toulouse, vibrations are significantly reduced and high signal-to-noise ratio can be achieved up to 80 T. Fig. 1 shows the field dependence of the resistance up to 80 T at different temperatures. The oscillatory behaviour is already evident from the raw data at fields above 60 T. To emphasize the quantum oscillations without subtraction of the non-oscillatory component, we also plot the derivative of the data (see inset of Fig. 1). The frequency of the oscillation F = 840 ± 30 T corresponds to a cross-sectional area of the covering about 3% of the FBZ. The quantum oscillations in Y123 and Hg1201 appear approximately in the same doping, temperature and magnetic field range of the phase diagram, with pockets of very similar effective mass and comparable cyclotron frequency. Moreover, the temperature dependence and absolute value of the Hall and Seebeck coefficients are very similar. Remarkably, on cooling, both coefficients sharply decrease below 50 K and finally change sign from positive to negative at low temperature. This supports the scenario of a Fermi-surface reconstruction that leads to a small, closed and coherent electron pocket, and it points to the same underlying mechanism related to the CuO2 plane, because this is the only common structural unit of the two compounds. Small electron pockets can be seen as an universal feature of hole doped cuprates.

Reference: Universal quantum oscillations in the underdoped cuprate superconductors N. Barišić, S. Badoux, M. K. Chan, C. Dorow, W. Tabis, B. Vignolle, G. Yu, J. Béard, X. Zhao, C. Proust & M. Greven Nature Physics 9, 761 (2013)

http://www.nature.com/nphys/journal...

Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Accueil


Accueil du site > Production scientifique > Actualités > Oscillations quantiques universelles dans les cuprates supraconducteurs sous-dopés

English

Oscillations quantiques universelles dans les cuprates supraconducteurs sous-dopés

Depuis 7 ans, les mesures d’oscillations quantiques réalisées dans les supraconducteurs à haute température critique de type cuprates dopés en trous ont apporté un éclairage nouveau sur l’état fondamental de ces matériaux fascinants. Ces mesures ont établi la validité du concept de liquide de Fermi à basse température, non seulement dans la partie sur-dopée du diagramme de phase, mais aussi et de façon plus surprenante, dans la partie sous-dopée. La grande surface de Fermi (SF) occupant 65% de la première zone de Brillouin (PZB), mesurée dans le composé sur-dopé en accord avec les mesures de photoémission et les calculs de structure de bande, est en fort contraste avec les petites poches de Fermi ne couvrant que 2% de la PZB mesurées dans YBa2Cu3Oy (YBCO) sous-dopé. Combinés avec les coefficients de Hall et Seebeck négatifs, ces faits expérimentaux indiquent que la SF à haute température est reconstruite en poches d’électrons (et peut être aussi de trous) par un ordre de charge en compétition avec la phase supraconductrice et qui brise la symétrie de translation du cristal. Cet ordre a récemment été mis en évidence par des mesures de RMN et de vitesse ultrasonore à fort champ ainsi que par des mesures de diffusion de rayons X à champ nul. Bien que ce résultat ait été interprété comme un changement drastique de la SF associée aux plans CuO2, il peut également être attribué à l’existence d’une SF liée aux chaînes CuO dans YBCO. En conséquence, une question essentielle se posait : est-ce que la reconstruction de la SF est une propriété universelle des cuprates ? Est-elle une conséquence de l’aspect unidirectionnel de la structure de YBCO ? Nous avons pu répondre à ces questions en observant des oscillations quantiques dans la magnétorésistance du cuprate tétragonal HgBa2CuO4+δ(Hg1201) à un dopage p ≈ 0.09, sous champ magnétique pulsé jusqu’à 80 T.

Figure 1 : Dépendance en champ magnétique de la résistance dans le plan du cuprate HgBa2CuO4+δ (Tc = 72 K, p = 0.09) jusqu’à 80 T à différentes températures. Les oscillations quantiques sont clairement observées dans les données brutes au-dessus de 60 T. Insert : la dérivée de la résistance en fonction du champ met clairement en évidence ces oscillations.

Grâce à l’impulsion longue durée du système coilin-coilex développé par les ingénieurs du LNCMI-Toulouse, les vibrations sont considérablement réduites permettant d’obtenir un excellent rapport signal-sur-bruit. La figure 1 montre la dépendance en champ de la résistance jusqu’à 80 T à différentes températures. Le comportement oscillatoire est clairement visible sur les données brutes pour des champs supérieurs à 60 T. Pour mettre en évidence ces oscillations quantiques sans soustraction de la composante monotone, nous avons tracé la dérivée des données (insert de la Fig. 1). La fréquence des oscillations F = 840 ± 30 T correspond à une aire couvrant environ 3 % de la PZB. Les oscillations quantiques dans Y123 et Hg1201 apparaissent approximativement dans la même gamme de dopage, de température et de champ magnétique. La masse effective et la fréquence cyclotron associées à cette poche sont très comparables. De plus, la dépendance en température et la valeur absolue des coefficients de Hall et Seebeck sont également très similaires dans les deux composés : ces deux coefficients changent de signe passant de positif à haute température à négatif à basse température. Ceci supporte le scénario d’une reconstruction de la SF qui conduit à une petite poche d’électron, fermée et cohérente, et pointe vers le même mécanisme sous-jacent, lié au plan CuO2 qui est la seule partie commune de la structure des deux composés. Une petite poche d’électron peut donc être considérée comme une caractéristique universelle des cuprates sous-dopés.

Référence : Universal quantum oscillations in the underdoped cuprate superconductors N. Barišić, S. Badoux, M. K. Chan, C. Dorow, W. Tabis, B. Vignolle, G. Yu, J. Béard, X. Zhao, C. Proust & M. Greven Nature Physics 9, 761 (2013)

http://www.nature.com/nphys/journal...