Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Home


Home page > Research topics > Quantum Electronics > Quantum Hall Effect

Français   

Quantum Hall Effect

A two dimensional electronic gas (2DEG) with high mobility of carriers placed in perpendicular magnetic field exhibits the integer and fractional quantum Hall effects. The Landau quantization of electronic levels in 2D system leads to gaps in the density of states. The Fermi energy is then an oscillatory function of the magnetic field, jumping to successively lower Landau levels with the increasing Landau level degeneracy eB/h per spin sub level. The gap in the density of states at the Fermi level is responsible for the integer quantum Hall effect which was first reported in Si MOSFETS at integer filling factors hns/eB, where ns is the 2D carrier density. When electron-electron interactions are taken into account, gaps also occur in the density of states at fractional filling factors leading to the fractional quantum Hall effect, first reported in GaAs heterojunctions. The resistivity of the sample Rxx = 0 while the Hall resistivity Rxy = h/e2 is quantized, where - takes integer 1, 2, 3... or fractional 1/3, 2/3... values. Since the discovery of both the integer and fractional quantum hall effect, the quality of GaAs based samples has been continuously improving. As a consequence, it is now possible t o observe many fractional states in the 0LL as well as in the 1LL.

Quantum Hall effect - RDNMR

The physics of interacting electrons at half integer filling factor has intrigued researchers over the past two decades. It was found that the behavior at the first Landau level can be understood in terms of non-interacting composite fermions (CF) at zero magnetic field. Numerous experimental findings confirm this picture, and establish the formation of a non-gaped state at filling factor 1/2. The behavior in the second Landau level is, however, fundamentally different. Early experiments, (...)

Read more

Quantum Hall ferromagnet at filling factor 1

Electron-electron interactions in two dimensions dominate in many cases over the single particle physics leading to new collective ground states of the system. The physics in the vicinity of filling factor 1 is particularly rich. The system behaves as a half empty Landau band in which all the electrons have the same orbital quantum number and only the spin degree of freedom remains. At exactly filling factor 1, the predicted ground state is an itinerant quantum Hall ferromagnet , while on (...)

Read more

Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Accueil


Accueil du site > Thèmes de recherche > Electronique Quantique > Effet Hall quantique

English

Effet Hall quantique

Un gaz bidimensionnel d’électrons (2 DEG) avec une forte mobilité des porteurs placés dans un champ magnétique perpendiculaire présente un effets Hall quantique entier et fractionnaire . La quantification de Landau des niveaux électroniques dans le système 2D conduit à des lacunes dans la densité d’états . L’ énergie de Fermi est alors une fonction oscillante du champ magnétique , sautant successivement vers les plus bas niveau Landau comportant des sous-niveau de spin ayant une dégénérescence eB /h croissante. Le gap dans la densité d’états au niveau de Fermi est responsable de l’effet Hall quantique entier qui a d’abord été rapporté dans MOSFET silicium à entiers facteurs de remplissage hns / eB , où ns est la densité de porteurs 2D. Lorsque les interactions entre électrons sont prises en compte , un gap apparait dans la densité d’états à des facteurs de remplissage fractionnaires menant à l’effet Hall quantique fractionnaire , observés pour la première fois dans les hétérojonctions GaAs . La résistivité de l’échantillon Rxx est nulle tandis que la résistivité de Hall Rxy= nh/e2 est quantifiée , où n est entier 1, 2 , 3 &hellip ou fractionnaire 1/3 , 2/3 &hellip . Depuis la découverte de fois l’effet Hall quantique entier et fractionnaire , la qualité des échantillons à base de GaAs a été en amélioration continue. En conséquence , il est maintenant possible d’observer de nombreux états fractionnaires dans les niveaux de Landau 0LL et 1LL .

Effet Hall quantique - RDNMR

En cours de traduction La physique de l’interaction des électrons à la moitié de facteur de remplissage entier a intrigué les chercheurs au cours des deux dernières décennies. Il a été constaté que le comportement au premier niveau de Landau peut être compris en termes de fermions composites sans interaction (FC) à champ magnétique nul . De nombreux résultats expérimentaux confirment cette image , et d’établir la formation d’un Etat non - baillé au facteur 1/2 de remplissage. Le comportement dans le second (...)

Lire la suite

Ferromagnétisme de hall quantique autour du facteur de remplissage égal à 1

Les interactions électron-électron a deux dimensions dominent dans de nombreux cas la physique des particules individuelles ce qui mène à de nouveaux états fondamentaux collectifs du système . La physique au voisinage du facteur de remplissage unité est particulièrement riche . Le système réagit comme un niveau Landau demi-remplis , dans lequel tous les électrons ont le même nombre quantique orbital et que le seul degré de liberté reste est celui de spin. Lorsque le facteur de remplissage est (...)

Lire la suite