Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Home


Home page > Research topics > Quantum Electronics > Graphene & Graphite

Français   

Graphene & Graphite

Recently graphene, a single sheet of graphite, was discovered. Graphene is the first truly two-dimensional system which exhibits unique electronic properties mostly related to its peculiar band structure. The remarkable physics exhibited by graphene has its origin in the conduction and the valence bands which meet at the two inequivalent (K and K0) corners of the Brillouin zone. The electrons in the vicinity of the Fermi energy do not obey Schrodinger’s equation, but should instead be described using the quantum-electrodynamic Dirac equation for relativistic fermions with zero rest mass. The electrons have a linear dispersion relation whose slope defines a Fermi velocity vF . In a relativistic analogy, these electrons behave as massless Dirac fermions moving at an effective speed of light vF . Moreover, graphene is a gapless material. This system is of great interest from a fundamental physics point of view and it has even been suggested that graphene can be used for bench top quantum electrodynamics experiments, for example to test the Klein paradox .

Graphite - Magnetotransport

Recently, massless Dirac fermions have been observed at the K point of the Brillouin zone in graphene, a hexagonally arranged carbon monolayer with quite extraordinary properties. Historically, graphene forms the starting point for the Slonczewski, Weiss and McClure (SWM) band structure calculations of graphite. In graphite, the Bernal stacked graphene layers are weakly coupled with the form of the in-plane dispersion depending upon the momentum kz in the direction perpendicular to the (...)

Read more

Graphite – de Haas van Alphen to probe the Fermi surface

The Fermi surface of graphite has electron and hole majority carrier pockets with maximal extremal cross sections at kz=0 (electrons) kz =0.35 (holes). For both types of charge carriers the in-plane dispersion is parabolic (massive fermions). Only at the H point (kz=0.5) the in-plane dispersion is linear, similar to that of charge carriers in graphene (massless Dirac fermions). At the H-point,there are two possible extremal orbits. A minimal (neck) orbit of the majority hole carriers, which (...)

Read more

Graphite – Electron-Hole asymmetry of optical transitions

Graphite has been extensively investigated in particular, magneto-optical techniques have been used to probe the energy spectrum at the H and K-points where there is a joint maximum in the optical density of states. Within the effective bi-layer model for graphite, with only two parameters, the observed splitting of the K-point transitions in the magneto-reflectance data was described by including the electron-hole asymmetry due to the non vertical coupling term phenomenologically. (...)

Read more

Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Accueil


Accueil du site > Thèmes de recherche > Electronique Quantique > Graphène & Graphite

English

Graphène & Graphite

Le graphène est un arrangement périodique d’atomes de carbone et constitue le feuillet de base du graphite. Le graphène est le premier véritable système à deux dimensions qui présente des propriétés électroniques uniques principalement liés à sa structure de bande particulière. La physique remarquables exposées par le graphène a son origine dans les bandes de conduction et de valence qui se rejoignent en deux points (K et K0) de la zone de Brillouin . Les électrons autour de l’énergie de Fermi n’obéissent pas à l’équation de Schrodinger, mais devraient plutôt être décrits en utilisant l’équation de Dirac de l’électrodynamique quantique des fermions relativistes avec une masse au repos nulle. Les électrons ont donc une relation de dispersion linéaire dont la pente définit une vitesse de Fermi vF. Dans une analogie relativiste , ces électrons se comportent comme des fermions de Dirac sans masse se déplaçant à une vitesse effective égale à celle de la lumière vF. En outre , le graphène est un matériau sans gap. Ce système est d’un grand intérêt d’un point de vue de la physique fondamentale et il a même été suggéré pour des expériences d’électrodynamique quantique en laboratoire, par exemple pour tester le paradoxe Klein.

Graphite - Magnétotransport

En cours de traduction Récemment , les fermions sans masse de Dirac ont été observés au point de la zone de Brillouin dans le graphène , une monocouche de carbone disposés en hexagone avec des propriétés tout à fait extraordinaires K . Historiquement , le graphène constitue le point de départ pour les calculs de structure bande Slonczewski , Weiss et McClure ( SWM) de graphite. Dans le graphite , les couches de graphène empilées Bernal sont faiblement couplées avec la forme de la dispersion dans le (...)

Lire la suite

Graphite – Oscillation de Haas van Alphen pour sonder La surface de Fermi

En cours de traduction La surface de Fermi du graphite a des poches de porteurs majoritaires d’électrons et de trous avec des sections extrémales maximale à kz = 0 (électrons) et kz = 0,35 (trous). Pour les deux types de porteurs de charge, la dispersion est parabolique (fermions massifs). Par contre au point H (kz = 0,5) la dispersion est linéaire, similaire à celle des porteurs de charge dans le graphène (fermions de Dirac sans masse). Au point H , il y a deux orbites extrémales possibles. Une (...)

Lire la suite

Graphite – Asymetrie électrons-trous des transitions optiques

En cours de traduction Le graphite a été très largement étudié, en particulier les techniques de magnéto-optiques ont été utilisées pour sonder le spectre d’énergie au points H et au points K où les densités d’états sont maximales simultanément. Le modèle de bi-couche effective pour le graphite , avec seulement deux paramètres, permet de décrire le splitting des transitions au points K- des mesures de réflexion si l’on inclus l’asymétrie électron-trou due au terme de couplage non vertical. Par ailleurs, le (...)

Lire la suite