Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Home


Home page > Research topics > Quantum Electronics > Dichalcogenides

Français

Optical manipulation of the exciton charge state in single layer tungsten disulfide

The layered transition metals from group VI [dichalcogenides] such as molybdenum disulfide MoS2), tungsten disulphide (WS2) or tungsten diselenide (WSe2) have recently attracted a lot of attention as alternative candidates for exploring single atomic layer structures. The particularity of these materials is the indirect band gap, which changes to a direct gap for a monolayer structure. Direct gap emission is characterized by an exciton doublet (A and B) which are split by spin orbit coupling.

The magneto - optical methods are very powerful for investigation electronic properties of such materials as emission occurs in visible part of the spectrum. Additional application of the magnetic field allows playing with the spin degree of freedom.

We show that in a single layer of tungsten disulfide (WS$_2$) obtained by the exfoliation of n-type bulk crystals, we observe both charged and neutral exciton recombination in the photoluminescence (PL) emission spectra. Additionally, by simply changing the intensity of the laser excitation, we can tune the ratio between the trion and exciton emission which demonstrates our ability to tune the density of 2D carriers with light. Moreover, using additional sub band gap laser excitation, the trion emission intensity can be independently tuned.

Fig.1 Typical micro - PL spectra measured as a function of the 532nm excitation power at 4K. (a),(b) results obtained for two different flakes. Spectra are offset vertically for clarity

Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Accueil


Accueil du site > Thèmes de recherche > Electronique Quantique > Dichalcogénures

English

Manipulation optique de l’état de charge de l’exciton dans les monocouches disulfure de tungstène

Les métaux de transition du groupe VI [ dichalcogénures ] comme le disulfure de molybdène MoS2) , disulfure de tungstène (WS2) ou diséleniure de tungstène (WSe2) ont récemment attiré beaucoup d’ attention comme candidats pour explorer des structures de couches atomiques uniques. La particularité de ces matériaux est que leur bande interdite indirecte, passe à un gap direct pour une structure monocouche . Les émission de gap direct sont caractérisées par un doublet exciton (A et B) qui est divisés par couplage spin-orbite.

Les méthodes magnéto-optiques sont très puissantes pour étudier les propriétés électroniques des matériaux dont l’émission se produit dans la partie visible du spectre. Le champ magnétique permet de jouer avec le degré de liberté de spin .

On montre que, dans une monocouche de disulfure de tungstène ( WS2 ) obtenue par l’ exfoliation de cristaux massifs de type n , on observe à la fois la recombinaison de l’ exciton chargé ou neutre dans les spectres de photoluminescence (PL). De plus, en changeant simplement l’intensité de l’excitation laser, nous pouvons ajuster le rapport entre l’émission des excitons et des Trion, ce qui démontre notre capacité à ajuster la densité de porteurs 2D avec la lumière. Par ailleurs, en utilisant une excitation inférieure au gap, l’intensité d’émission des Trions peut être réglée indépendamment .

Fig.1 spectres de micro-PL typique mesurés en fonction de la puissance d’excitation à 532nm et à 4K. ( a) , ( b) résultats obtenus pour les deux flocons différents . Les spectres sont décalées verticalement pour plus de clarté.