Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Home


Home page > Scientific production > News > High magnetic field reveals the nature of excitons in a single GaAs/AlAs Core/Shell Nanowire

Français

High Magnetic Field Reveals the Nature of Excitons in a Single GaAs/AlAs Core/Shell Nanowire

Single NWs have been proposed for several applications in electronics, opto electronics or photo voltaics. In contrast to bulk material, III-V nanowires can crystallize in wurzite, zinc blende or mixed crystal structures. The different crystal structures have different electronic band structures, giving us a tool to manipulate the optical and electronic properties of the NWs. Therefore studying the excitonic behavior in GaAs NWs is an important part of the description and understanding of their electronic properties.

High magnetic fields are a unique and powerful tool to reveal the nature of excitons in single high aspect ratio GaAs/AlAs core/shell nanowires (NWs). We show for the first time that emission from a single NW exhibits very strong and narrow excitonic lines. This demonstrates the extremely high quality of our nanowires and proves that their quality approaches that of the best bulk material. The application of a magnetic field probes both the orbital and spin degrees of freedom. The magnetic field dependence of the emission allows us to identify unambiguously the emission with the recombination of excitons bound to defect pairs with different separations, previously observed only in very high quality MBE grown GaAs.

Our NWs, easily dispersed onto a Si substrate, should open the way for numerous optoelectronic applications based on well-established Si device technology. Additionally, our NWs have a pure zinc blende structure, which is the well-pursued structure for GaAs devices. Our results should increase the understanding of the band structure of single GaAs NWs, which is crucial for the many possible applications.

Differential PL spectra showing the evolution of the emission as a function of magnetic field applied perpendicular to the NW at T = 1.7K. Several sharp emission lines are resolved, which show a large diamagnetic shift and Zeeman splitting at high magnetic fields. The white symbols show for comparison the shift of the strong line (14) of the bound exciton-defect pair recombination in epitaxial GaAs of Skolnick et al. [Skolnick et al., Phys. Rev. B 38, 4165 (1998)]

Ref.: Plochocka et al., NanoLetters 2013

Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Accueil


Accueil du site > Production scientifique > Actualités > Les champs magnétiques intenses révèlent la nature des excitons dans un nanofil unique coeur/coquille GaAs/AlAs

English

Les champs magnétiques intenses révèlent la nature des excitons dans un nanofil unique coeur/coquille GaAs/AlAs

Les nanofils semi-conducteurs uniques on été proposés pour diverses applications en électronique, opto-électronique ou photo-voltaïque. Contrairement aux matériaux massifs, les nanofils de semi-conducteurs III-V peuvent cristalliser en structure wurzite, zinc-blende ou polymorphe. Ces différentes structures cristallines, ont différentes structures de bandes électroniques, qui nous donnent des outils pour manipuler les propriétés optiques et électroniques des nanofils. L’étude des propriétés excitoniques de nanofils de GaAs est donc une part importante pour la description et la compréhension des leurs propriétés électroniques.

L’application d’un champ magnétique intenses est un outil unique pour étudier les propriétés des excitons dans des nanofils uniques coeur/coquille GaAs/AlAs. Nous avons montré pour la première fois que l’émission d’un nanofil unique présentait une raie excitonique très fine et très intense. Cela démontre la très bonne qualité de nos nanofils qui approchent ainsi celle des matériaux massifs. L’application d’un champ magnétiques onde conjointement les degrés de libertés orbitaux et de spin. La dépendance en champ magnétique de l’émission nous permet d’identifier sans ambiguïté l’émission de la recombinaison de l’exciton lié à une paire de défauts. Cet effet n’avait été précédemment observé que sur des cristaux massifs de très haute qualité.

Nos nanofils, facilement dispersables sur un substrat de silicium devraient ouvrir différentes voies pour des applications optoélectroniques basées sur les technologies éprouvées du silicium. Additionellement, nos nanofils ont une structure zinc-blende favorable pour des dispositifs à base d’GaAs. Nos résultats devraient permettre une meilleure compréhension de la structure de bande de nanofil de GaAs unique qui est cruciale pour les applications.

Fig.1 Le spectre différentiel de µ-photoluminescence montre une évolution de l’émission en fonction du champ magnétique appliqué perpendiculairement à l’axe du nanofil pour T = 1.7K. Les différentes lignes d’émissions résolues montrent un large décalage diamagnétique et une levée de dégénérescence par effet Zeeman à fort champ magnétique. Les symboles blancs montrent pour comparaison le décalage de la ligne d’émission (14) de recombinaison la paire exciton lié-défaut dans le GaAs massif depuis Skolnick et al. [Skolnick et al., Phys. Rev. B 38, 4165 (1998)]

Ref. : Plochocka et al., NanoLetters 2013