Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Home


Home page > Science outreach > LNCMI-T outreach

Français

LNCMI-T outreach

The LNCMI-Toulouse staff regularly participates to outreach events, to promote science and research in high magnetic field. A few examples:

  • French annual science fest

Every year in October (for example in 2013), the LNCMI-Toulouse opens its doors to students for the French annual science fest. The high-field facilities (generators, magnets, experiments) are presented, as well as introductions to the research in high magnetic field thanks to a various set of demonstration experiments : magnetism, magnetic springing ring, magnetic levitation of a superconductor, phase transitions, optics, laser, etc. A similar visit is also organised every year for a group of students laureate of the French competition "Olympiades de Physique".

  • The researchers night

The LNCMI-Toulouse staff participates very regularly to the"Researchers night", which is a another French national outreach event. These last years, the demos of magnetism, optics, and superconductivity of the lab were presented at the Space Museum in Toulouse, as well as at the Météo-France site, at the occasion of the researchers nights 2010, 2011, 2012.

  • At Université Paul Sabatier : The ChemCam instrument analysing Mars planet rocks

Université Paul Sabatier made on March, 12th, 2013 an opening to a large audience to highlight the Mars exploration based on the Rover Curiosity. This rover carries an instrument named ChemCam that was entirely conceived by a Science team from Toulouse. This instrument analyses the composition of Mars rocks using laser pulse shots and performing spectroscopy of the emitted light. (http://www.msl-chemcam.com/). During this show, LNCMI-Toulouse has displayed a set of experiments that includes laser and spectroscopy measurements to support the understanding of ChemCam operation.

  • At Rieupeyroux high school, in Aveyron, young scientists investigate magnetism and electricity

Pupils from Rieupeyroux high school in Aveyron have set under the guidance of their physics teacher an atelier that displays experiments to demonstrate electricity and magnetism to other primary and high school pupils*. They actually visited LNCMI-Toulouse on March, 20th to discover a genuine set of experiments that highlights magnetic field generation optical, magnetic and superconductive properties of materials. Recently, the Rieupeyroux team won in first rank a selection tournament in Midi-Pyrénées for participating to the national competition “Faites de la Science” in Rochelle, May, 31th, 2013 ( http://www.concoursfdls.fr/.) LNCMI supports currently their atelier.

(*) http://www.ladepeche.fr/article/201...

  • At lycée Bellevue in Toulouse : discovering the laser

The lycée Bellevue in Toulouse has welcomed on April, 15th, 2013 an atelier from LNCMI-Toulouse that aims to explain how a laser works. This atelier combines a set of experiments based on spectroscopy and photometry that have been designed to support the understanding of light emission processes taking place in a laser operation. The presentation has addressed more specifically, helium-neon, ruby crystal and semiconductor lasers.

  • Contacts:

Jean Léotin (Laser, Outreach at the University of Toulouse, Riouperoux and Bellevue high schools, etc.)

Baptiste Vignolle (Superconductivity, Supra2011)

Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Accueil


Accueil du site > Grand Public > Le LNCMI-T vers le grand public

English

Le LNCMI-T vers le grand public

Le LNCMI participe régulièrement à des actions de communication vers le grand public afin de promouvoir les sciences et la recherche en champ magnétique intense. Quelques exemples :

  • Fête de la science

Chaque année en octobre (par exemple en 2013), le LNCMI-Toulouse ouvre ses portes à des scolaires dans le cadre de la Fête de la science. C’est l’occasion de visiter les installations de champ magnétique intense du laboratoire (générateurs, bobines, expériences etc.), mais aussi de découvrir la recherche en magnétisme au travers de plusieurs ateliers : magnétisme, anneau sauteur magnétique, lévitation magnétique d’un supraconducteur, transitions de phase, expériences optiques, laser, etc. Cette visite est aussi organisée chaque année lors de la réception d’un groupe lauréat des Olympiades de Physique.

  • La nuit des chercheurs

Les chercheurs du LNCMI-Toulouse participent très régulièrement à la Nuit des Chercheurs. Ces dernières années, les démos de magnétisme, d’optique et de supraconductivité du laboratoire ont ainsi été présentées à la Cité de l’espace ou sur le site de Météo-France, lors des Nuits des Chercheurs 2010, 2011, 2012.

  • A l’université Paul Sabatier : l’instrument ChemCam à l’œuvre sur la planète Mars

L’Université Paul Sabatier a présenté au grand public le 12 Mars 2013 la mission Mars-Curiosity, en particulier son robot voyageur et l’instrument embarqué ChemCam. Cet instrument a été conçu par une équipe toulousaine pour l’analyse du sol Martien. Il effectue des tirs d’impulsions laser sur le sol et réalise la spectroscopie de la lumière émise par la roche en fusion (http://www.msl-chemcam.com/). Au cours de cette journée-évènement « Cap sur Mars » le LNCMI a organisé un atelier visant à illustrer le fonctionnement de ChemCam et intitulé « A la découverte du laser ».

  • Au Collège de Rieupeyroux, en Aveyron, des scientifiques en herbe font découvrir l’électricité et le magnétisme

Des élèves du collège de Rieupeyroux en Aveyron ont réalisé sous la conduite de leur professeur un atelier d’éducation scientifique sur le thème Electricité et Magnétisme. Ce groupe d’élèves a mis en place un ensemble d’expériences ludiques et démonstratives qu’ils présentent dans des écoles de l’Aveyron*. Ces élèves ont visité le LNCMI le 20 mars 1013 pour y venir découvrir des expériences de démonstration sur les effets du champ magnétique, l’optique, et la supraconductivité. Par leur activité, supportée par le LNCMI, Ils ont été qualifié en première position par un jury régional pour participer à la finale du concours National « Faites de la Science » à la Rochelle le 31 mai 2013 ( http://www.concoursfdls.fr/.)

(*) http://www.ladepeche.fr/article/201...

  • Au lycée Bellevue de Toulouse : A la découverte du Laser

Le lycée Bellevue de Toulouse a accueilli la présentation d’un atelier sur le fonctionnement du laser le 15 avril 2013. Cet atelier qui a été réalisé au LNCMI à l’intention d’un large public à été suivi par l’ensemble des élèves des classes terminales et leurs professeurs. Il a permis d’appréhender par des expériences de spectroscopie et de photométrie le fonctionnement du laser à Rubis, du laser Hélium-Néon et du laser à semi-conducteurs.

  • Contacts :

Jean Léotin (Laser, Vulgarisation à l’Université de Toulouse, aux lycées de Riouperoux et Bellevue, etc.)

Baptiste Vignolle (Supraconductivité, Supra2011)