Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Home


Home page > Scientific production > News > Plasma jets collimation by strong magnetic fields

Français

Plasma jets collimation by strong magnetic fields

An experiment was carried out using the ELFIE laser facility of LULI at Ecole Polytechnique (France) in order to test collimation of high-power produced plasma jets by strong magnetic fields, a topic of interest for so-called laboratory astrophysics.

For this experiment we have designed and build a 40 T split pair magnet, designed to operate around 300 K, with two cylindrical accesses under vacuum of 5 mm diameter. One, in the magnet bore, will allow the target fixation and the laser access. The other, in the mid plane, is for diagnostic.

The laser beam (pulse 50 J of 700 ps FWHM, 1.053 µm) was focused, at the centre of the split coil, on a planar target. Various configurations were used, to study the influence of the intensity, in the range 1012-1014 W.cm-2, on the formation and evolution, with or without magnetic field, of the plasma. By varying the delay between the main laser beam and the probe laser beam, we were able to follow the evolution in time of the plasma jet. As evidenced in the figure below, a strong collimation of the plasma was observed when applying strong magnetic field to the expanding plasma.

(a) Picture of the coil compartment inside the vacuum chamber on the laser line and raw interferometric data obtained for Cu 250 µm thickness. The image is taken 5 ns after the beginning of the interaction (b) without external magnetic field (c) with a 20 T magnetic field added parallel to the plasma expansion axis. Plasma density computed using Abel inversion (d) for the image shown in of (b) and (e) for the image shown in (c).

These first results demonstrate the importance of strong magnetic field in collimating high-energy density plasma jet, a topic of interest to test models of astrophysical jets evolution.

Contact: Jérôme Béard

Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Accueil


Accueil du site > Production scientifique > Actualités > Collimation de plumes plasma par des champs magnétiques intenses

English

Collimation de plumes plasma par des champs magnétiques intenses

Une expérience a été menée utilisant l’installation laser ELFIE du LULI à l’Ecole Polytechnique avec pour but de tester la collimation de plasma de haute puissance par des champs magnétiques intenses, d’un grand intérêt pour "l’astrophysique de laboratoire".

Pour cette expérience nous avons construit une "split-coil", i.e. un aimant à accès radial et longitudinal de 40 T conçu pour fonctionner à température ambiante. Ces deux accès cylindriques de 5 mm de diamètre sont ouverts sur l’enceinte à vide dans laquelle arrive le laser. Un, dans le trou de la bobine permet la fixation de la cible et l’accès du laser. Le second, pour le diagnostic, traverse le plan médian.

Le laser peut produire des impulsions de 50 J de 700 ps FWHM à la longueur d’onde fondamentale de 1.053 µm. Le faisceau est focalisé, au centre de la bobine, sur une cible plane. Plusieurs configurations ont été utilisées pour étudier l’influence de l’intensité, dans la gamme 1012-1014 W.cm-2, sur la formation et l’évolution avec ou sans champ magnétique, de la plume plasma. En variant le délai entre le laser principal et le laser sonde, nous sommes capable de suivre l’évolution du plasma au cours du temps. Comme le montre la figure ci-dessous, une forte collimation du plasma est observée quand on applique un fort champ magnétique au plasma en expansion.

(a) Photo du compartiment bobine à l’intérieur de l’enceinte à vide sur la ligne laser et données interférométriques brutes obtenues pour du cuivre de 250 µm d’épaisseur. Image prise 5 ns après le début de l’interaction sans champ magnétique (b) et avec champ magnétique de 20 T (c) parallèle à l’axe d’expansion du plasma. En bas densité de plasma calculée par inversion d’Abel pour les images du dessus.

Ces premiers résultats qui démontrent l’importance des champs magnétiques intenses dans la collimation de plumes plasma de hautes densités d’énergie, présentent un grand intérêt pour tester les modèles astrophysiques d’évolution de plasma.

Contact : Jérôme Béard