Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Home


Home page > Scientific production > News > Application of Nuclear Magnetic Resonance in pulsed high-field magnets to high-Tc superconductors

Français

Application of Nuclear Magnetic Resonance in pulsed high-field magnets to high-Tc superconductors

At LNCMI efforts have been performed in order to introduce Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) in pulsed high-field magnets. Since pulsed fields of up to 100 T have been reported while the highest continuous fields don’t exceed 45 T, the introduction of NMR in pulsed fields potentially allows to investigate high-Tc superconductors in temperature and doping regions formerly inaccessible for NMR experiments.

In fig. (left) the methodology of NMR in pulsed field is explained. During the field pulse RF pulses are applied to the resonant circuit containing the sample coil. Every time the current magnetic field matches the Larmor frequency f0\propto B0 a NMR signal can be detected. The influence of the changing field on NMR spectra can be removed in retrospect applying deconvolution techniques.

BMP - 26.6 kb

Fig. Left: Time profile of the magnetic field pulse and the voltage detected at the NMR receiver channel Rx. The red line indicates the magnetic field value which corresponds to the irradiated frequency f0 and the gyro magnetic ratio \gamma. Right: Accumulated and partial Fourier spectra of the four detected NMR signals. The numbers in the legend represent the segment number, where each segment contains one Hahn echo sequence. The field decreases from segment 16 to 19 with a rate of about 0.2 kT/s.

Recently we successfully performed 63Cu-NMR experiments on an YBaCuO6.51 single crystal. During a field pulse with a maximum of 47 T, a RF pulse train of Hahn echo sequences (first pulse 0.8 µs, echo time 3.9 µs, second pulse 1.6 µs) with a period of 200 µs was irradiated. Sample temperature was 2.5 K and the magnetic field was parallel to the c-axis. Slightly after the field maximum at a field change rate of 0.2 kT/s we recorded echoes in four neighboring segments. After deconvolution and Fourier transformation the spectrum in fig. (right) could be constructed. It can be identified with the 63Cu main line (compare [1]).

These results represent a proof of concept regarding the potential of NMR in pulsed fields for the investigation of the low-temperature normal state of cuprates.

References

1. T. Wu, H. Mayaffre, S. Krämer, M. Horvatić, C. Berthier, W. N. Hardy, R. Liang, D. A. Bonn and M.-H. Julien, Magnetic-field-induced charge-stripe order in the high-temperature superconductor YBa2Cu3Oy, Nature, 477, 191-194

Contact

Holger.Stork@lncmi.cnrs.fr

Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Accueil


Accueil du site > Production scientifique > Actualités > Application de la Résonance Magnétique Nucléaire en champ pulsé pour les supraconducteurs à haut Tc

English

Application de la Résonance Magnétique Nucléaire en champ pulsé pour les supraconducteurs à haut Tc

D’importants efforts ont été consacrés au LNCMI pour introduire la Résonance Magnétique Nucléaire (RMN) en champs magnétiques pulsés. Sachant que les champs pulsés non-destructifs vont aujourd’hui jusqu’à 100 T alors que les champs statiques n’excèdent pas 45 T, la RMN en champ pulsé permet potentiellement d’étudier les supraconducteurs à haute température dans des régimes à fort champ jusqu’à présent inaccessibles.

La Fig. (gauche) illustre la méthodologie de la RMN en champ pulsé. Pendant l’impulsion de champ magnétique B0, des impulsions radiofréquences (RF) sont appliquées au circuit LC résonant contenant la bobine “échantillon”. A chaque fois que le champ magnétique atteint la fréquence de Larmor f0 ( f0 = B0  \gamma, \gamma étant le rapport gyromagnétique de l’échantillon), un signal RMN peut être détecté. Le shift en fréquence des spectres des signaux RMN dû à la variation du champ magnétique pulsé peut être corrigé à l’aide des techniques de déconvolution.

BMP - 26.6 ko

Fig. (gauche) Profil temporel de l’impulsion du champ magnétique et tension RMN détectée (ici noté Rx). La ligne rouge indique la valeur du champ magnétique correspondent à la fréquence f0 et au ratio gyromagnétique \gamma. (droite) Spectres de Fourier de quatre signaux RMN détectés. Les nombres dans la légende représentent les segments, chaque segment contenant une séquence d’échos de Hahn. Le champ décroît du segment 16 au segment 19 avec un taux de 0.2 kT/s.

Récemment nous avons réalisé avec succès des expériences de RMN (63Cu) sur un monocristal de YBCO6.51. Durant une impulsion de champ magnétique pulsé allant jusqu’à 47 T, un train d’impulsions RF de séquences d’échos de Hahn (1ère impulsion 0.8 µs, temps de l’écho 3.9 µs, 2nde impulsion 1.6 µs) a irradié l’échantillon sur des périodes de 200 µs. La température de l’échantillon était de 2.5 K, et le champ magnétique a été appliqué selon l’axe-c. Peu après le champ maximum, et à une vitesse de 0.2 kT/s, nous avons enregistré des échos sur quatre segments voisins. Le spectre présenté sur la Fig. (droite) a été obtenu après déconvolution et transformée de Fourier. Il est la signature de la ligne principale du 63Cu (à comparer avec [1]).

Ces résultats illustrent le potentiel de la RMN en champ pulsé pour l’étude de l’état normal à basse température des cuprates.

Références

1. T. Wu, H. Mayaffre, S. Krämer, M. Horvatić, C. Berthier, W. N. Hardy, R. Liang, D. A. Bonn and M.-H. Julien, Magnetic-field-induced charge-stripe order in the high-temperature superconductor YBa2Cu3Oy, Nature, 477, 191-194

Contact

Holger.Stork@lncmi.cnrs.fr