Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Home


Home page > Scientific production > News > Interplay of magnetism, Fermi surface reconstruction, and hidden-order in the heavy-fermion URu2Si2

Français

Interplay of magnetism, Fermi surface reconstruction, and hidden-order in the heavy-fermion URu2Si2

URu2Si2 is surely one of the most mysterious of the heavy-fermion compounds. Despite more than 20 years of experimental and theoretical works, the order parameter of the transition at T0 = 17.5 K is still unknown. The state below T0 is called the “hidden-order phase,” and the stakes are still to identify the energy scales driving the system to this phase.

A new generation of magnetoresistivity and magnetization measurements on very-high-quality single crystals of URu2Si2 has been performed up to 60 T at the LNCMI-Toulouse. It permitted to show that the transition to the hidden-order state is initially driven by a high-temperature crossover at around 40–50 K, which is a fingerprint of intersite electronic correlations. In a magnetic field applied along the easy-axis c, the vanishing of this high-temperature scale precedes the polarization of the magnetic moments, as well as driving the destabilization of the hidden-order phase. Strongly impurity-dependent magnetoresistivity confirms that the Fermi surface is reconstructed below T0 and is strongly modified in a high field applied along c, i.e., at a sufficiently high magnetic polarization. These new results will help for a future understanding of the hidden-order in URu2Si2.

More information about heavy fermions can be found here

Publications :

- G. W. Scheerer, W. Knafo, D. Aoki, G. Ballon, A. Mari, D. Vignolles, and J. Flouquet, Interplay of magnetism, Fermi surface reconstructions, and hidden order in the heavy-fermion material URu2Si2, Phys. Rev. B 85, 094402 (2012).

- G. W. Scheerer, W. Knafo, D. Aoki, and J. Flouquet, Angular Dependence of the High-Magnetic-Field Phase Diagram of URu2Si2, Accepted in J. Phys. Soc. Jpn. Suppl.

Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Accueil


Accueil du site > Production scientifique > Actualités > Magnétisme, reconstruction de surface de Fermi et ordre caché dans le système à fermions lourds URu2Si2

English

Magnétisme, reconstruction de surface de Fermi et ordre caché dans le système à fermions lourds URu2Si2

URu2Si2 est à coup sûr un des systèmes à fermions lourds les plus mystérieux. Malgré plus de vingt ans de recherche intensive (expérience et théorie), la nature du paramètre d’ordre associé à la transition de phase qui a lieu à T0 = 17.5 K est toujours inconnue. D’où l’appellation « phase à ordre caché ». Aujourd’hui, un enjeu est encore d’identifier les échelles d’énergie conduisant à cet état.

Une nouvelle génération d’expériences a été menée au LNCMI-Toulouse dans le but d’étudier la magnétorésistivité et l’aimantation de monocristaux de très haute qualité de URu2Si2 dans des champs allant jusqu’à 60 T. Il a été montré que la transition vers l’état « ordre caché » est initialement contrôlée par un « crossover » haute-température à environ 40-50 K, qui est la signature de corrélations électroniques intersites. Dans un champ magnétique appliqué selon l’axe facile c, la destabilisation de cette haute température précède celle de la phase « ordre caché ». Une contribution de la magnétorésistivité dépendant fortement de la qualité des échantillons, i.e., du libre parcours moyen des électrons, confirme que la surface de Fermi est reconstruite sous T0, mais aussi qu’elle est fortement modifiée dans un champ appliqué selon c, lorsque la polarisation magnétique est significative. Ces nouveaux résultats aideront à comprendre la nature de l’ordre caché dans URu2Si2.

Pour plus d’info sur les fermions lourds cliquez ici

Publications :

- G. W. Scheerer, W. Knafo, D. Aoki, G. Ballon, A. Mari, D. Vignolles, and J. Flouquet, Interplay of magnetism, Fermi surface reconstructions, and hidden order in the heavy-fermion material URu2Si2, Phys. Rev. B 85, 094402 (2012).

- G. W. Scheerer, W. Knafo, D. Aoki, and J. Flouquet, Angular Dependence of the High-Magnetic-Field Phase Diagram of URu2Si2, Accepted in J. Phys. Soc. Jpn. Suppl.