Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Home


Home page > Scientific production > News > The inverse Cotton-Mouton effect observed for the first time

Français

The inverse Cotton-Mouton effect observed for the first time

A Magneto Optics effect observed for the first time at LNCMI: towards a new photonics device?

Magneto optics is an old field of research, as old as 1845 when Faraday discovered that a magnetic field can change light polarization, but it is still a surprising one.

Physicists at the LNCMI-T have observed for the first time that when a light beam passes through a medium in the presence of a transverse magnetic field, the medium becomes magnetized. This magnetization obtained is proportional to the laser power and to the value of the external magnetic field. This effect corresponds to a non resonant excitation of the medium constituents that changes its microscopic properties. Its existence has been predicted since the beginning of non-linear optics in the sixties but it has been somewhat forget in textbooks. It is generally known as the Inverse Cotton-Mouton effect.

Physicists have observed this magnetization in a crystal of common use in optics, a Terbium Gallium Garnet (TGG). The experiment is based on the use of a pulsed powerful laser, a magnetic field and an electronic circuit to detect the induced magnetization that is typically one million times smaller than the external magnetic field for this kind of crystal. Thanks to it an electric signal is obtained indicating that the crystal has been illuminated by the laser.

Though the first motivation of physicists is to study more fundamental aspects of this phenomenon [1], it is clear that the whole system constitutes a device that may have industrial applications in the field of photonics. A patent is now pending under CNRS sponsorship. This shows once more how fundamental researches are also fundamental to the industrial development. This observation will be published on a journal of the European Physical Society [2], but physicists are already working to arrive to an industrial prototype of the device which could be commercialized.

[1] Inverse Cotton-Mouton effect of the vacuum and of atomic systems, C. Rizzo, A. Dupays, R. Battesti, M. Fouché and G. L. J. A. Rikken, EPL 90, 64003 (2010) ;

[2] Observation of the Inverse Cotton-Mouton Effect, A. Ben-Amar Baranga, R. Battesti, M. Fouché, C. Rizzo, and G. L.J.A. Rikken, arXiv:1009.3152, in press EPL.

Contact : Rémy Battesti

More information can be found here

Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Accueil


Accueil du site > Production scientifique > Actualités > L’effet Cotton-Mouton inverse observé pour la première fois

English

L’effet Cotton-Mouton inverse observé pour la première fois

Un effet magnéto optique observé pour la première fois au LNCMI : vers un nouveau dispositif photonique ?

La magnéto optique est un domaine ancien, aussi ancien que 1845 quand Faraday découvrit que un champ magnétique peut changer la polarisation de la lumière, mais elle réserve encore des surprises.

Des scientifiques ont observé pour la première fois au LNCMI que, quand la lumière traverse un milieu soumis à un champ magnétique transverse, le milieu s’aimante. Cette aimantation est proportionnelle à la puissance laser et à la valeur du champ magnétique extérieure. Cet effet correspond à une excitation non résonante du milieu qui change ses propriétés microscopiques. Son existence a été prédite depuis les débuts de l’optique non linéaire dans les années soixante but il a été quelque peu oublié dans les livres. Il est généralement connu comme l’effet Cotton-Mouton inverse.

Les scientifiques ont observé cette aimantation dans un cristal très utilisé en optique, un grenat de terbium et gallium (TGG). L’expérience est basée sur l’utilisation d’un laser pulsé puissant, un champ magnétique et un circuit électronique pour détecter l’aimantation induite qui typiquement est un million de fois plus petite que le champ magnétique extérieur pour ce type de cristal. Grâce à lui un signal électrique est obtenu indiquant que le cristal a été illuminé par le laser.

Bien que la motivation première des scientifiques est d’étudier les aspects plus fondamentaux [1], il est clair que l’ensemble constitue un dispositif qui peut avoir des applications industrielles dans le domaine de la photonique. Un brevet vient d’être déposé sur l’égide du CNRS. Cela montre une fois de plus que la recherche fondamentale est aussi fondamentale pour le développement industriel. Cette observation sera publié dans un journal de la Société Européenne de Physique [2], mais d’ores et déjà les scientifiques travaillent pour arriver à un prototype industriel du dispositif qui puisse être commercialisé.

[1] Inverse Cotton-Mouton effect of the vacuum and of atomic systems, C. Rizzo, A. Dupays, R. Battesti, M. Fouché and G. L. J. A. Rikken, EPL 90, 64003 (2010) ;

[2] Observation of the Inverse Cotton-Mouton Effect, A. Ben-Amar Baranga, R. Battesti, M. Fouché, C. Rizzo, and G. L.J.A. Rikken, arXiv:1009.3152, in press EPL.

Contact : Rémy Battesti

Pour plus d’info cliquez ici