Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Home


Home page > Scientific production > News > Quantum Hall effect in graphene under very high magnetic field

Français

Quantum Hall effect in graphene under very high magnetic field

Graphene flakes deposited on SiO2 substrates were considered, in the early times of their discovery, as perfect two-dimensional mono-layers of carbon atoms arranged in a honeycomb lattice. However, it was soon realised that their interaction with the substrate leads to the formation of electron and hole puddles, turning graphene into an inhomogeneous medium [1]. The fundamental electronic properties of graphene in the presence of charge puddles have been extensively studied both theoretically [2] and experimentally [3]. However, little is known about their implications at very high magnetic field. For this purpose, pulsed-field magneto-transport experiments of up to 60T have been performed in disordered graphene samples having mobility in the range 2000 to 10 000 cm2/V.s.



Figure: Close to the charge neutrality point, the presence of charge puddles drive graphene into an inhomogeneous medium with fluctuating potential landscape. When a large magnetic field is applied, the Landau level structure evolve according to the local potential and allow the presence of mixed carriers (electrons and holes). As a consequence, the Hall effect vanishes at high field and low carrier density.


For high carrier density, the typical QHE for graphene is observed as a sequence of quantized plateaus of the Hall resistance and vanishing longitudinal resistance for filling factors ν=2, 6, 10 etc… On the other hand, as the system is driven close to the charge neutrality point, the Hall resistance is progressively attenuated suggesting the contribution of both electron/hole-type of carriers. This effect is directly attributed to the presence of local charge puddles which start to dominate the transport properties when the overall carrier density is low. In this regime, electron and hole-type carriers coexist and their ratio depends on the Fermi energy position within the LL band-structure, which is strongly magnetic field dependent. We show that the threshold magnetic field marking the onset of this effect is directly related to the mobility of the sample.


References
[1] Y. Zhang et. al., Nature Physics 5 (2009) 722
[2] R.P. Tiwari et. al. Phys. Rev. B 79 (2009) 165408
[3] S. Cho et. al., Phys. Rev. B 77 (2008) 081402(R)


Acknowledgments
This research was supported by EuroMagNET II under EU Contract No. 228043, by the French National Agency for Research (ANR) under Contract No. ANR-08-JCJC-0034-01. The authors would like to thank K.S. Novoselov and for providing some of the graphene samples used in this work.


This work was published in:
J.M. Poumirol et. al. Phys. Rev. B 82 (2010) 121401
J.M. Poumirol et. al. New J. Phys. 12 (2010) 083006


Members of the LNCMI implied in this work are:
J.M. Poumirol, W. Escoffier, B. Raquet, M. Goiran, A. Kumar

Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Accueil


Accueil du site > Production scientifique > Actualités > Effet Hall quantique dans le graphène sous champ magnétique intense

English

Effet Hall quantique dans le graphène sous champ magnétique intense

Les feuillets de graphène déposés sur des substrats SiO2 étaient considérés, dans les premiers temps qui suivirent leur découverte, comme des systèmes parfaitement bidimensionnels d’atomes de carbone arrangés selon une structure hexagonale. Cependant, il fût très tôt démontré que leur interaction avec le substrat provoque la formation d’îlots locaux chargés alternativement négativement et positivement, rendant l’échantillon inhomogène d’un point de vue électrique [1]. Les propriétés électroniques fondamentales du graphène en présence de falques d’électrons et de trous ont déjà été largement étudiées théoriquement [2] et expérimentalement [3]. Cependant peu de choses sont connues vis-à-vis de leurs conséquences sous champ magnétique intense. Pour palier à ce manque, des expériences de magnéto transport dans du graphène désordonné ont été réalisés sous champ magnétique pulsé jusqu’à 60T.



Figure : Proche du point de neutralité de charge, la présence d’ilots chargés fait du graphène un milieu inhomogène dans lequel le potentiel électrostatique fluctue localement. Lorsqu’un champ magnétique intense est appliqué, la structure des niveaux de Landau évolue localement et provoque l’apparition de porteurs chargé négativement (électrons) et positivement (trous). En conséquence, l’effet Hall a tendence à s’annuler sous fort champ magnétique et pour des faibles densités de porteur de charge.


Lorsque la densité de porteur de charges est grande, l’effet Hall quantique est observé sous la forme de plateaux quantifiés de la résistance de Hall, tandis que la résistance longitudinale s’annule dès que le facteur de remplissage atteint la série de valeurs entières ν=2, 6, 10 etc… Cependant, alors que le système est progressivement conduit vers le point de neutralité de charge, la résistance de Hall a tendance à s’annuler, suggérant la contribution simultanée des électrons et des trous dans les propriétés de transport électrique. Cet effet est directement relié à la présence d’îlots chargés positivement et négativement, ayant des effets contraires dans la résistance de Hall. Dans ce régime, le ratio de porteurs de charge positive et négative dépend de la position du niveau de Fermi, elle-même très affectée par le champ magnétique.


Références
[1] Y. Zhang et. al., Nature Physics 5 (2009) 722
[2] R.P. Tiwari et. al. Phys. Rev. B 79 (2009) 165408
[3] S. Cho et. al., Phys. Rev. B 77 (2008) 081402(R)


Remerciements
Cette étude a été financée par le programme européen EuroMagNet II sous le contrat No. 228043, par l’Agence Nationale pour la Recherche sous le contrat No. ANR-08-JCJC-0034-01. Les auteurs souhaitent remercier chaleureusement Prof. K.S. Novoselov (Univ. Machester) pour sa participation dans cette étude.


Ce travail a été publié dans
J.M. Poumirol et. al. Phys. Rev. B 82 (2010) 121401
J.M. Poumirol et. al. New J. Phys. 12 (2010) 083006


Les membres du LNCMI impliqués dans ce travail sont :
J.M. Poumirol, W. Escoffier, B. Raquet, M. Goiran, A. Kumar