Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Home


Home page > Research topics > Advanced magneto-optics

Français   

Advanced magneto-optics

In 1845, Faraday was the first to establish a link between optics and magnetic fields, by the observation of a rotation of the polarization of light passing through a medium with a longitudinal magnetic field (Faraday effect). In 1875, Kerr found a link between optics and electrostatic fields by his observation of electric field inducing linear birefringence on a medium (Kerr effect). These findings provided a basis for our understanding of electromagnetism. Later a similar birefringence was observed to be induced by magnetic fields: the Cotton-Mouton effect.

Nowadays, these effects are well understood and are used to study atoms, molecules and solids. To a quite good approximation, the underlying light-matter interaction can be described by electric dipole coupling. However, progress in magnetic field strengths and measurement techniques allow going beyond this approximation.

The main subject of our research is to study the light-matter interaction in magnetic fields beyond the local electric dipole approximation. Studied domains can be very different, with for example quantum electrodynamics, quantum chemistry and chemical reaction kinetics, and physics beyond the standard model.


Senior scientists:

- Oliver Portugall for the "Megagauss" fields

- Geert Rikken for magneto-electro-optics

- Carlo Rizzo for the BMV project and the project "Atoms in high magnetic field"


In this section :

"Megagauss" fields


Magneto-electro-optics


Vacuum magnetic birefringence


Atoms in high magnetic field

Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Accueil


Accueil du site > Thèmes de recherche > Magnéto-optique avancée

English

Magnéto-optique avancée

Faraday a été le premier, en 1845, à montrer le lien entre l’optique et les champs magnétiques en observant la rotation de l’axe de polarisation de la lumière traversant un milieu sous champ magnétique transverse (effet Farraday). En 1875, Kerr montra le lien entre optique et champs électriques en observant la biréfringence linéaire induite sur un milieu par un champ électrique (effet Kerr). Ces découvertes sont à la base de notre compréhension de l’électromagnétisme. Plus tard, une biréfringence similaire induite par des champs magnétiques a été observée : l’effet Cotton-Mouton.

De nos jours, ces effets sont bien compris et sont utilisés pour étudier les atomes, les molécules et les solides. Dans une assez bonne approximation, l’interaction lumière-matière peut alors être décrite par un couplage dipolaire électrique. Cependant, les progrès expérimentaux réalisés sur les champs magnétiques et les techniques de mesure permettent d’aller au-delà de cette approximation.

Le sujet principal de nos recherches est l’étude de l’interaction lumière-matière sous champ magnétique au-delà de l’approximation dipolaire électrique locale. Les domaines concernés peuvent être très différents, avec par exemple l’électrodynamique quantique, la chimie quantique et la cinétique de réaction chimique, ou bien encore la physique hors modèle standard.


Scientifiques senior :

- Oliver Portugall pour les champs "Megagauss"

- Geert Rikken pour la magnéto-électro-optique

- Carlo Rizzo pour le projet BMV et le projet "Atomes en champs magnétiques intenses"


Dans cette section :

Champs "Megagauss"


Magnéto-électro-optique


Biréfringence magnétique du vide


Atomes sous champ magnétique intense